Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 15, 2011 / 13 Tamuz, 5771

Goings On

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Try as I might, some weeks it's really tough not to moan and groan when reading the news. It's a shame too, since it puts a real damper on my normally upbeat, sunshiny, Pollyanna-like disposition. This past week was one of those weeks when the news items annoyed me more than usual. Since I write a weekly column I have the luxury of being able to share those aggravating news reports with you now. Lucky you!

Item number one: Reporting on the death of former first lady Betty Ford last week it was both enlightening and typical to read the slant that the newspapers took. "Outspoken first lady admired for openness," read one headline. The first sentence in the story began, "Betty Ford said things that first ladies just don't say, even today. And 1970's America loved her for it." In the view of the press that was what made her soooo lovable. And what did she say that the media found so very adorable?

Back in the 70's Mrs. Ford said her young children probably had smoked marijuana and if she were their age, she'd try it too. In an interview on "60 Minutes" she said she wouldn't be surprised to learn that her youngest, 18 year-old Susan, was in a sexual relationship (this statement so embarrassed the daughter that she issued a denial).

Mrs. Ford commented that living together before marriage might be wise; she thought women should be drafted into the military if men were; and she spoke up strongly for abortion rights and was an ardent supporter of the Equal Rights Amendment. She also was a backer for federal funding of the performing arts. No wonder the media loved her! She was espousing all the liberal causes that they believe in, and what made it even more delicious - she was taking positions that conflicted with those of her husband. Oh, man! Isn't she great?

I really don't mind the headline on that obit; I just wish they had finished the sentence. The headline should have read, "Outspoken first lady admired for openness…by the media."

Next item: The headline reads, "Texas Governor defends execution of Mexican." Well, there you go…just another racist Texan out to kill a poor Mexican, right? Hmmm, not exactly. If you read the story and not just the headline you find out that to begin with, the Mexican was in this country illegally. Oh, and another little thing, the Mexican was arrested and convicted of murdering a San Antonio teenager.

"If you commit the most heinous of crimes in Texas, you can expect to face the ultimate penalty under our laws," Perry's spokeswoman said. That sounds reasonable to me. So the convicted murderer was put to death - the end, right? No, that's not the end of the story. Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, along with that esteemed humanitarian assemblage, the United Nations, sided with the killer's lawyers who claim he was not informed that he could have sought help from the Mexican government. What?

Excuse me, but if that's true, then why didn't the murderer's lawyers inform him of that information themselves at trial? And by the way, if Mexico lets its murderers sneak into this country illegally and kill people, we have every right to give them a fair trial, and if found guilty, execute them. Period. Once again, the headline wasn't completed. It should have read: "Governor defends execution of Mexican Murderer."

Item three: Just what the people of California need most; another tax increase (excuse me, I mean fee). Governor Jerry Brown signed into law a $150 annual "wildfire protection fee" for property owners in rural areas of the state. The fee is supposed to generate $50 million in the first year and another $200 million annually in the future. That's nice. People have less money to spend, prices are up on most necessities, unemployment is up, and Brown implements yet another "fee."

This "fee" is one of two fees the Legislature's Democratic majority approved as part of the state budget. The other one is a $12 hike to the vehicle registration fee. By the way, these fees have been imposed without the two-thirds vote required for tax increases. That's how they get around the law, you see, by simply calling a tax, a "fee." Thanks, guys. I'm sure you can cure California's economic problems if you just implement enough "fees."

Gripe number four: In its war on incandescent light bulbs, the federal government's Energy Secretary Steven Chu said the following when asked for his response to the millions of Americans who don't want to be forced to buy the more expensive fluorescent, halogen, and LED alternatives; "We are taking away a choice that continues to let people waste their own money." There you go, that's the liberal mentality.

What he's saying in essence is, "you people are too stupid to make the right choices, so we at the government will make those choices for you." Then it becomes, you people are too stupid to choose the right food to eat, so the government will tell you what you can eat. We'll determine how you can heat your homes, we'll determine how much you should weigh, where you can smoke, if at all, what surgeries you are allowed to have, on and on. It doesn't stop until the nanny state takes over our entire lives.

I've got much more to grouse about, but I've run out of space. Lucky you.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles