Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 9, 2010 / 27 Tamuz 5770

The Old Ball Game

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Watching the Dodgers get murdered by the New York Yankees a couple of weeks ago in their three game series at Dodger Stadium seemed like old times. No, I wasn't at the ballpark; I watched it on TV in my den at home. No one except millionaires or people who have nothing else to spend their money on could possibly afford those tickets (which had to be purchased as part of a multi-game package, no single game sales). I watched them lose two out of three games although it was that final third game that was the real killer. The Dodgers had the game won …right up until the 8th inning when the Yankees came back strong and stole it away. It was pathetic, but as I said, like old times.

From what I read in the papers, the problem with the Dodgers this season is their weak pitching staff - they don't have a powerful pitching superstar. Maybe that's so. I'm no baseball expert, but from my life experience following the Dodgers I can tell you this: throwing away games is what the Dodgers do. I've watched them do it since I was a kid. Throwing away games has been so consistent with this club that I've come to believe that it must be some sort of sacred tradition that they feel obligated to carry on year after year, generation after generation.

Don't get me wrong, I love the Dodgers. I grew up with them, going back to their early days in LA playing at the Coliseum. It's always the same, each year when the season begins I have little interest, but as time goes on, when I start familiarizing myself with the individual players my enthusiasm increases - and as the season gets closer to the playoffs I really start paying attention to it. By then I've bonded with the players and have been educated by Vin Scully enough to qualify as a bona fide Dodge fan.

I understand the basics of the game, of course, but there are some things about modern day baseball that are different than when I was a kid and I wish someone would explain them to me. Let's go over them one by one, shall we? Remember they apply to all teams, not just the Dodgers.

1. I don't get the number code thing when a double or triple play takes place. The game announcer usually says something like "Well, that was a six, four, three play" or "nine, two, seven" or whatever the heck the numbers are. These numbers mean nothing to me; why not just say "it went from short to second, to first" - or whatever it was? Don't give me numbers because I don't like numbers.

2. What's the deal with the braided hoops and large flashy chains around the players' necks now? It seems to be mostly on pitchers. I can remember when that sort of thing was forbidden because of the distraction to the guys at bat. Why has it changed and why would a ball player even want to play with those added hoops flopping around his neck? It's like, "Okay, time to suit up! Let's see now…I've got my uniform on, my shoes, my cap and glove …oh wait, I almost forgot my black rope hoop-thing for my neck!"

3. I don't get the baggy uniforms either. Why would you want to play any sport in sloppy, oversized baggy clothes? And since when did it become "cool" to dirty up your batting helmet with tar and to look like you need a shave all the time? It seems like some players put a lot of time and thought into "looking cool." Gee, isn't there enough other REAL STUFF to focus on when you're a pro ball player? Is it so hard to take a shave? Maybe if some of these guys spent as much time practicing on the field as they do in tattoo parlors they might be better players.

And then there are things about baseball that haven't changed at all. A well-played ball game is still exciting and suspenseful. And it's still a thrilling thing to watch the pros play (even in baggy pants). The movements and co-ordination of a major league ball player is akin to ballet. Baseball players are among the best athletes in the world. And everyone still stands up for the Star Spangled Banner. If any sport can give you that warm, patriotic feeling, baseball does in spades.

Best of all, Vin Scully is still calling the game, talking to ME and not some guy sitting next to him in the press box as other announcers do. Just the sound of his voice makes the baseball experience even better and somehow warm and comforting. I listen to him and I'm ten years old again, sitting next to my dad in the Coliseum. And I still want a hot dog, peanuts, and a box of Cracker Jack when I'm watching a ball game, too … even sitting at home in my den.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles