Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 4, 2014 / 6 Tammuz, 5774

It Depends Upon What the Meaning of 'Boots on the Ground' Is

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When it comes to international affairs, if President Obama says something you can damn well be sure that it will be meaningless. A few weeks ago he gave a speech on the White House South Lawn regarding the deteriorating situation in Iraq, vowing that he "[would] not be sending U.S. troops back into combat in Iraq." And just a few days later, Obama committed 275 Special Forces to "secure U.S. assets and advise the country's fledging military as ISIS inches closer to Baghdad."

That was several weeks ago, and now things have gotten worse in and around Iraq, so guess what? That's right; President Obama has increased the number of troops into the area. The additional troop presence raises the US total in Iraq (as of July1st) to approximately 750, according to the Pentagon. And when questioned by reporters, the Pentagon does not rule out the possibility that even more troops will be sent over in the future.

Officials say that around 300 soldiers will have the job of protecting US citizens and US property in the Baghdad area. Another 200 soldiers are to beef up security at the Embassy and help support facilities at the Baghdad International Airport. Another 100 will be responsible with providing security and logistics support in the Baghdad area. And the other 150 troops will …well, they didn't really say what they would be engaged in.

The bottom line is, Obama went from absolutely "No boots on the ground," to sending 275 special forces a few days later, then 200 more, then 300 more, and now they won't say how many more could possibly be sent in the days ahead. Maybe he figures if he sends in a little at a time, nobody will notice.



Look, I'm not smart enough to know what the right action or inaction should be for the United States regarding the ISIS crisis in the Middle East. But I know two things for sure - I know that Vietnam began a little at a time, with a "few advisors" here and there. The next thing we knew, we had a full scale war on our hands which divided our country and altered the American culture forevermore. We lost credibility and respect abroad and to this day the wounds haven't fully healed.

The other thing I know is, to be an effective leader the president of the United States needs to have the trust of the American people. When an American president states something emphatically (such as "you can keep your own insurance and your own doctor," or "no boots on the ground,") he has to live up to his word. Obama seems incapable of doing this. The man just can't seem to master the simple act of honesty. When a leader loses credibility at home and abroad, he loses everything.

At this stage we have very little credibility in the world at large, even less in the Middle East. Why would anyone believe anything that this administration says or promises?

How many more troops will Obama commit to the region? Does he have a plan or is this more of his knee-jerk poll driven reaction to a problem? One thing is for sure, the more troops he sends over, the more chance it is that someone will get killed. Once that happens, then what? With Obama in charge there's no telling.

In the entire Middle Eastern area there are only two countries that are dependable friends to the U.S. One of course is Israel, our one true democratic ally; the other is Jordan, which has been supportive and extremely pro-Western through the years. Whatever we do in that region we should do with an eye to protecting those two important allies.

Then there are the Kurds. Of the various ethnic and tribal factions in the region, the Kurds are the ones we should support. They are not religious radicals and they are not Arabs. They are a rational people that number somewhere close to 30 million. America can work with these people and we should. The time is right for us to support Kurdish independence.

Right now new boundaries are being drawn on Middle Eastern maps. We can not allow the radical Islamist groups such as ISIS to call the shots. The Middle East is a complicated problem that will, in all likelihood, never be settled in our lifetimes. But make no mistake; whether we go in now or stand back and let the factions fight it out themselves, sooner or later we will be dragged into it. This war isn't going away anytime soon. It started a long time ago.

Greg Crosby Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California.

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast