Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 1, 2011 / 29 Sivan, 5771

Collect All Nine! Trade 'Em with Friends!

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Hey folks, now you can collect all your favorite full-color gruesome disease cards. There are nine different ones in all and they feature all your favorite graphic images including rotting teeth, diseased lungs and the ever popular stitched-up corpse of a smoker. Save 'em or trade 'em with your friends! Hurry, get them while supplies last!

All you have to do is buy a pack of cigarettes starting in October 2012 (just in time for Halloween!) and your collection has begun. Each and every pack will have you retching at the sight of one of nine repulsive images, like a man exhaling smoke through a hole in his neck. And remember, along with each graphic image, you get at no extra cost cheerful kernels of wisdom such as "SMOKING CAN KILL YOU." The pictures are in glorious color and are suitable for framing. Collect all nine or swap with your friends for baseball cards.

In the latest Big Brother nanny state move by the Feds, the Food and Drug Administration has mandated that these new warning labels must be in place by 2012. American Cancer Society CEO John R. Seffrin is satisfied with the new labels and says they can "encourage adults to give up their deadly addiction to cigarettes and deter children from starting in the first place." Do you really think so? Thank you, oh wise and powerful federal government. Our tax dollars at work.

Allow me to state for the record, before all the hate mail starts rolling in, that I do not advocate smoking cigarettes. I'm a former cigarette smoker, having smoked for much of my adult life before I finally quit 15 years ago. And I'm glad I did. But I quit because I realized that given my family's history with cancer, it wasn't a very smart idea to smoke cigarettes. I didn't need big government to "draw me a picture."

I always knew that cigarettes were not good for my health, we all knew that. People knew that fifty and sixty years ago. Not long ago I was watching an old movie from the 30's where one of the characters starts coughing after taking a drag on a butt, and another character turns to him and says, "You really ought to quit those things. They're not good for you." Oh yes, people have known that cigarette smoking is unhealthy for many decades.

And believe me; every school kid today knows this all too well. It's drilled into kids from the minute they enter grade school. Kids have been taught that cigarette smoking is just about the worst thing any person can do. Never mind having babies out of wedlock, never mind zero moral standards, destruction of private property, or even smoking dope, none of those trump cigarettes as humanity's biggest evil.

But there's the thing, in a free society, unless something is flat-out illegal, people should have the option to pursue their own personal eating, drinking, and smoking habits without interference. Our own private, small indulgences are our own business and government should keep their nose (and my tax dollars) out of them. I love how liberals believe in a woman's right to have abortions on demand (and with government funding), but some poor guy can't smoke his pipe on a park bench.

Listen, lots of things can be bad for you if done to excess. Drinking, eating, even physical exercise can be harmful depending on your individual health status. You've got to use common sense and make the right choice for yourself. And along with common sense, common courtesy is something that individuals need to employ for themselves, it should not be the government's job. You can't legislate courtesy (well, I guess you can, but in a free country you shouldn't).

The less big government has to do with our private lives, the better. But the federal government now demands that tobacco companies devote at least half of the space on the cigarette pack to grotesque graphic pictures.

Where does government stop with this stuff? How long will it be before government makes fast-food restaurants post color pictures of clogged arteries, open-heart surgery, and morbidly obese people next to the menus for double cheese burgers and French fries? And what about pictures on liquor bottles and beer cans depicting diseased livers, drunks vomiting in gutters, and mangled dead bodies on the freeway?

When the Feds require that automotive makers paste pictures of melting polar icecaps on the windows of SUVs, when they demand that supermarkets post photos above the meat case of cattle being slaughtered, and when they mandate that all smokers be sent to reeducation camps, then maybe, just maybe it might dawn on more of us where this country is headed.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles