Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 20, 2014 / 22 Sivan, 5774

The Obama Touch

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | What to make of President Barack Obama?

After 6 years of his presidency our economy hasn't recovered; our health care system (once the envy of the world) is unraveling; our coal industry is about to be decimated; veterans are dying thanks to a corrupt VA system; the IRS has become Obama's personal SS troopers, targeting his political opponents and getting away with it; tens of thousands of Latin American minors (including 17 and 18 year old gangbangers) keep flooding over the boarder into our country; and barbaric Islamic terrorism is on the rise across the Middle East and North Africa.

And Obama keeps playing golf and doing fund-raisers.

Meanwhile, the scandals and screw-ups keep coming and with each new scandal the reaction is always the same, feigned outrage and the promise "to get to the bottom of it." Obama never gets to the bottom of anything except maybe the bottom of the golf cup when he picks up his ball. Sort of reminds me of when O.J. Simpson promised to search high and low to find "the real killer."

When a scandal rears up, President Obama is like Will Rogers, he only knows what he reads in the newspapers. And coming from a man who prides himself in being so modern day tech savvy, it's hard to imagine that he actually picks up a newspaper at all.

During his presidential campaign Ronald Reagan asked American voters, in reference to President Carter's first term, "Ask yourself, are you better off now than you were four years ago?" Similarly, today's Americans might ask the same thing and also add, "Is America stronger now than it was six years ago?" And "Is the world a safer place now than it was six years ago?"

President Obama wants to be able to say that he got all the US troops out of Afghanistan and Iraq. He does this by declaring that "the war is over." If you quit fighting, does that mean that the war is over? I guess it does if your name is Barak Obama. Sure, giving up is one way to have peace. If you are a kid who turns over your milk money every day to a bully instead of standing up for yourself and fighting back, then the fight's over. As long as you give the bully what he wants you have peace.

Peace isn't all that hard to achieve. If you're taken over by your enemy, you have peace, the war is over. When you lose a war the war is over. For Obama and others that think like him, it is far better to give up fighting a war then to win it. In Obama's world, capitulating to the enemy, backing down, doing business with evil regimes is a great achievement. Giving in, backing down, and getting the hell out is one surefire way to end the war.

Oh, and by the way, I don't think our enemy believes the war is over. They started the war, remember? They flew those planes into our buildings and killed three thousand Americans. It ain't over 'til the al Qaida lady sings. And she's not even tuning up yet.

I think of how our credibility in the world has been diminished. Our allies don't trust us, our enemies don't fear us. I think of our wide-open boarders with an additional 80 to 90 thousand young uneducated illegal immigrants projected to pour in by the end of this year and 150,000 more for next year. With so many American citizens still out of work, why is this a good idea?

I think of a president who does whatever he wants to do without any regard for rule of law. His obvious distain for the Supreme Court and the houses of Congress not to mention the Constitution gives me an indication of what it must be like to live under a banana republic.

Lots of political pundits and writers have speculated on the motives behind Obama's actions. Some say he is a Marxist, a far-left student of radical Sol Alinski, who is attempting to remake America into an authoritarian socialist style government. Some have said that he is a hater of Western Imperialism and that he considers it his duty to cut down the USA's prestige, making America impotent and uninvolved on the world's stage. The weaker America is, the better he likes it.

Some say he is just not very good at being president, a man in over his head, a community organizer who can't manage anything more involved than a hellfire and brimstone speech read from a teleprompter. Some say he is disinterested in world affairs and in leadership in general, that he loves the pomp of the office but has little interest in the hard work that goes along with it. They say he is a guy who doesn't take responsibility for his actions, and denies ever making mistakes. Not only doesn't the buck stop with him, the buck never gets past the front guard gate.

I have no idea what drives Obama to do the things he does. I only know that he is the direct opposite of King Midas, that fabled monarch with the golden touch. Whatever King Obama touches turns to crap.

Two years left in the Obama administration. Fasten your seat belts, there's still a lot left he can touch in two years.

Greg Crosby Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California.

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast