Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 18, 2013/ 10 Tamuz, 5773

Gullibility: It's Not Just for the Young Anymore

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I don't think anyone has ever done a survey on it, but it's a pretty good bet to conclude that when we're young we tend to be more gullible. You can tell a little kid almost anything and he'll believe it. "Hey look! I've got your nose!" "If you're not good Santa won't bring you any presents." When the child is four or five their gullibility is actually kind of cute.

Young people as a rule, teens especially, are more apt to believe what they're told, sometimes even in the face of obvious logic to the contrary. Call it the optimism of youth. Or maybe it's just plain ignorance. Whatever it is, it's the reason why advertisers like to target young folks; they are prone to swallow the sales pitch faster than someone who's been around the block a few times.

This is also the reason why the Democratic Party goes after the youth vote. They know that the utopian dreams promised by progressivism is a concept embraced mostly by the young and ignorant. Who else could possibly think that slogans such as "Make Love, Not War," and "Co-Exist" have any real meaning at all? These concepts may be a nice idea for harmony in one's neighborhood, but they simply sound foolish and naïve when dealing with an enemy who worships a philosophy of hatred and is committed to annihilating you.

But the young don't have a corner on naivete, there are some who, although not young anymore, still maintain the stupidity of youth. This explains why so few people are aware of the multitude of scandals that have broken in Obama's administration in recent weeks. Too many people aren't paying attention, or they are paying attention to the wrong things. Americans tune into sports, celebrity news, salacious pop culture garbage and reality shows, and tune out of what's going on in Washington. Add to that mix the liberals who simply refuse to believe anything negative about Obama and you have a perfect pathway for government corruption.

Political gullibility is bad enough, but gullibility is everywhere. It is spread wider than the elastic waistband on Michael Moore's boxer shorts. Nobody thinks of themselves as being particularly gullible, just as no one thinks of themselves as being a jerk, but we all know that there are plenty of jerks among us. Sometimes we fall into gullibility because we want so badly to believe in something. A case in point is the National Do Not Call Registry which sounds too good to be true.

If you're like our house, you probably get anywhere from 15 to 30 unsolicited telephone calls a week from contractors, charities, marketing companies, etc. The calls come at all times of the day and evening, many at dinnertime. Oh sure, you can "screen" the calls so that you won't have to pick up, but that doesn't solve the annoyance of the calls themselves because the phone still rings. So what is the solution to this irritation? Well it is The National Do Not Call Registry, of course.

There's how it is supposed to work: You call up their number or you can register on their web site. It takes no time at all. It costs you nothing. The promise is, once registered you will never be bothered by those pesky unsolicited phone calls again. Sounds great, so of course I go for it! That's right, gullible Greg goes for it hook, line, and sinker. And here's the payoff…not only do the calls not stop, I swear we're getting more calls than before I registered with this facocta thing. At my age I should know better than to think that this would actually work.

The older we get the more we start regressing and soon we become as gullible again as we were when we were young. But I guess we're all gullible in one way or another. I used to think that the path to success in life was to play by the rules and not cheat until I saw cheating liars get ahead in all kinds of ways, especially money. I still play by the rules, but I know that it doesn't necessarily add up to winning.

My wife is gullible in her own way too. She thinks if she works on me long enough then I will actually improve. After 35 years you'd think she would have wised up.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast