Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 9, 2014 / 11 Sivan, 5774

Told You So

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I hate to say "I told you so," but I told you so. Actually that's not true. I don't hate it, I really like saying "I told you so" because it makes me sound so smart and prophetic.

Anyway, I told you so. I knew 20 years ago that plastic containers were a bad idea for food and beverages. I told everyone I knew, but did anyone listen to me? That would be a big NO. But now I've been proven right, finally.

In the last few years, report after report has come out against the use of plastic bottles, usually for environmental reasons. My reasons were not environmental, but health related. And now there are reports surfacing that plastic food and beverage containers could be a danger to our health. Yep, I told you so. (Man, I love saying that!)

So how did I know years and years ago that plastic wasn't such a great idea for food and beverages? Easy. I used common sense. I'm far from a scientist or health expert; I flunked Mister Wizard and Bill Nye the Science Guy on TV. I'm no soothsayer or prophet either.

However, as far fetched as it might sound, I was blessed with a working brain. And through the years as I saw the proliferation of plastic being used for everything from ketchup to peanut butter to water, my brain had a conversation with my gut and they agreed….plastic containers for food and beverages can't be a good thing for people.

Plastic, you see, is made from petroleum which is processed under heat with other chemicals. The molecules in plastic break down and seeps into whatever is contained within it. Those chemical molecules absorb into the liquid or food which is kept in the plastic container. Then you drink from it or eat from it and who knows what effect that might have in your body.

Lots of people think that plastic water bottles are clean and safe to drink from, but it 'aint necessarily so. Most water bottles have something called Bisphenol A which is an organic compound present in polycarbonate plastic. There have been tests and they have shown that Bisphenol A goes into the liquid that is in it. This means that the water bottles that many people drink can have harmful chemicals in them.

The current (June) issue of Men's Journal states that Bisphenol A (BPA) can cause cancer and other illnesses. Not only that, but even water bottles that are so-called BPA-free can often contain other chemicals that act in the same way -leaching into foods and drinks.

These chemicals are absorbed into the body and mimic the hormone estrogen, increasing the risk of cancer, diabetes, obesity, and reproductive problems.



The article goes on to cite a study which showed that phthalates, a compound found in plastics, were linked to a 20% reduction in male fertility. CertiChem, a plastics testing company (yes, there are such things), has tested over 450 products and found that nearly all, even those labeled as BPA-free, leached chemicals that mimicked estrogen. Some experts have said that there is no such thing as a totally safe plastic; some are just safer than others.

No one knows for sure what the ultimate damage may be to a person's health after years and years of consuming drinks and food packaged in plastic. Michael Green, executive director of the Center for Environmental Health said, "We're doing an unplanned, intentional science experiment on ourselves."

Plastic is so pervasive in everything we use today, it's almost impossible to avoid it. Think about what's packaged in plastic: baby bottles, sippy cups, cheese, meat, toothpaste, mouthwash, bread, milk, every kind of condiment, even soft drink and beer cans are lined with it.

Men's Journal recommends avoiding water bottled in plastic and drinking only tap water instead. Studies have shown that tap water contains fewer contaminants than bottled water. That's something I always did. I never used bottled water when I could drink tap water.

Thinking back, it was probably peanut butter in plastic jars that first clued me in to the wrong-headedness of plastic containers. I noticed after opening the plastic container that the peanut butter would take on a rancid smell in a relatively short period of time. That never was the case with glass jars. If it happens with peanut butter, it's got to happen with other foods and drinks as well.

You can't avoid all of it, but you can try to limit your exposure to plastic has much as possible. Buy stuff in glass bottles and jars when you can. Use aluminum foil or waxed paper to cover leftovers instead of plastic wrap. Microwave your food in glass, not plastic. Think before you buy household appliances, check to see if they are mostly made of stainless steel instead of plastic. Use common sense.

And always remember the most important thing of all … I told you so.

Greg Crosby Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California.

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast