Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 23, 2014 / 1 Sivan, 5774

Dust Up

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's everywhere. You can't escape it; you encounter it everyplace you go. You try to rid yourself of it, but it's impossible. It refuses to go away, like Bill and Hillary Clinton.

It's dust and it won't stay away for long, it just keeps coming back. One dictionary defines dust as fine, dry powder consisting of tiny particles of earth or waste matter lying on the ground or on surfaces or in the air. Whatever the heck it is, it keeps coming back no matter how much you use Endust or Pledge.

As far as the fast majority of dust in the house is concerned, humans lose tens of thousands of dead skin cells and hair every minute, as do our pets, which breakdown into tiny particles. Carpets, furniture, bedding and clothes all release thousands of fibers when they are used, but believe it or not, all that only adds up to less than 40% of the dust in your home. Most dust, about 60%, comes from outdoors according to a study done by Environmental Science & Technology. It gets in through the air and from tracked-in soil.

But what is dust specifically made of? We know that little boys are made of snips and snails and puppy dog's tails. We know that little girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice. And dust is made out of all that PLUS EVERYTHING ELSE IN THE WORLD. Pollen, soil, minerals, volcanic ash, road dirt, cement particles, hair, skin, textile and paper fibers, toe nail shards, cooties, all kinds of things form dust. Think of dust as a sort of dirt stew.

If you're eating right now this would be a good time to stop reading this article because I'm about to tell you the truly repulsive part. And that would be dust mites. Dust mites are found just about everywhere, and have been found living all over the world, except Antarctica. They are especially attracted to mattresses and pillows, which are warm and moist, and where they feed on shed skin cells. Their fecal matter can trigger allergic reactions in some people, and this matter, along with dead mites, are also a part of house dust, a really big part. Okay, you can go back to eating now, if you can.

So what can we do about it?

The short answer is not much. Dusting and vacuuming can take care of particles that have already settled, and an air purifier can help filter it from the air, but you can't get rid of all of it. You can cover your mattress and all your furniture with dust-proof covers like your grandmother use to do if you don't mind sitting on plastic. You can seal up your house completely, never open a window, and never open a door. For those who are okay with never leaving their homes ever again, this might be just the ticket.

By the way, why do we say call it "dusting" when we mean we are cleaning up dust? We don't say we're snowing when we clean up snow. "After I dust the house I have to get outside and snow the walkway." Ridiculous.

Looking at it philosophically, you might say that dust is the Earth slowly attempting to reclaim its land. And in the war between Earth and humans, we mere mortals don't stand a chance of winning. Go ahead, the Earth seems to say, use your pitiful dust rags, feather dusters, vacuum cleaners and anything else you've got and just try to push back. You might win a little today, but tomorrow the dust will return. It's the ultimate war of attrition.

Dust is international; as a matter of fact it's even intergalactic. Outer Space has cosmic dust and planetary systems begin with gas and dust clouds. The tails of comets are produced by emissions of dust and ionized gas from the body of the comet. Dust also covers solid planetary bodies, and vast dust storms occur on Mars that cover almost the entire planet. I learned all this stuff on the internet site Wikipedia, of which I access from my dust-laden computer.

You've heard the expression, "He's as old as dust" used to describe someone who is pretty darn old. Dust is used in that way because there probably aren't too many things older than dust. Dust is the best simile in that case. You wouldn't say, "He's as old as Spandex," it just wouldn't have the same impact.

Dust has a long and illustrious history. The Book of Common Prayer first published in the year 1549 gives us what is undoubtedly the most widely known funeral phrase in all of history, "Earth to earth, ashes to ashes, dust to dust." But dust predates even that. Dust was there at the very beginning of the creation when Adam looking around the Garden of Eden said to Eve, "Don't you ever clean this place? What do you do all day while I'm out busting my hump to make a living?" I'm kidding. He never really said that. But the dust part is true.

I have nothing further to say about dust.

Greg Crosby Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California.

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast