Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 11, 2012/ 19 Iyar, 5772

Charities, No Guilt Trips Please

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You're sitting in front of the idiot box minding your own business, watching some innocuous program, just a little diversion to take you out of the realities of your daily life, when suddenly out of nowhere you're hit with a guilt trip. A commercial for a worthy charity comes on using graphic images of its pathetic victims, playing on the viewer's emotions in an attempt to shame you into giving. The idea of the spot is to rip my heart out so much that I will jump up and run to my checkbook, and with tears in my eyes, write out a substantial donation to the organization.

Well, here's a news flash for all you charitable organizations who employ this technique — it doesn't work … at least not with me. I don't run for my checkbook, I run for the TV remote and either mute the ad or switch channels altogether. And I mentally cross that particular organization off my giving list. You see, I don't appreciate being emotionally manipulated. It feels like I'm being conned, and I don't like getting conned. Some of these spots remind me of pitiful beggars on street corners reaching to grab you as you walk by, crying out, "PLEASE… .HELP ME… PLEASE!!!"

My wife and I give to many worthy causes all year long. It's something that we have always done and we believe everyone should give what they can to their favorite charities. But I really resent being shamed into it. Don't parade the crippled children in front of me, don't show me starving babies in Africa with flies crawling over their crying faces, and don't show me wounded veterans unable to hold their kids in their arms because they have no arms.

The Department of Health and Human Services has jumped on the bandwagon of late and has cranked up the horror with their anti-smoking ads. They show people literally dying in beds, hooked up to tubes coughing their guts up. They think the only way to get people to quit smoking is to scare the crap out of them.

I know horrible things happen all over the world all the time and we, who are more fortunate, need to help those who are in trouble and hurting, I get it, really. You don't have to shock me into doing what's right, just ask me nicely for help without rubbing my face in it. You don't have to freak me out with horror images, if you make your case in a tasteful way chances are I'll pitch in with a few bucks to help. It's all in HOW you approach me.

Watching this year's Westminster dog show I was happy to see that the new sponsor, Purina PetCare, has taken a more positive approach to their commercials than those of the previous sponsor, Pedigree, which ran spots in years past of sad dogs in cages waiting to take that final walk. This year we didn't have to look away when the ads came on showing pitiful little faces peering out from behind dirty rusted bars of a cage and practically saying, "PLEASE… HELP ME!"

Westminster spokesman and longtime TV host David Frei said, "The feedback we got from our primary audience was that they were seeing commercials that made them want to turn the channel." Frei said he thought the Pedigree commercials took the wrong approach. Backed by viewers who either muted the spots or flipped the channel and didn't turn back he said to Pedigree, "Show me an ad with a dog with a smile. Don't try to shame me." Frei said, "We told them (Pedigree) that and they ignored us." So Westminster switched to Purina.

"Our show is a celebration of dogs," Frei said. "We're not promoting purebreds at the expense of non-purebreds. We celebrate all dogs. When we're seeing puppies behind bars, it takes away from that. Not just because it's sad, but it's not our message." Purina's main spots feature dogs running on the beach, catching a Frisbee, frolicking in the snow and riding a surfboard. Wonderful positive loving images of dogs, not guilt trips.

Purina's ads are based on a theme: Inside every good dog is a great dog. Its main 60-second spot shows lots of wagging tails - there are therapy dogs, rescue dogs, guide dogs, show dogs, household pets and a playful pooch greeting a serviceman. If only charities would take a page out of the Westminster approach I might start running for my checkbook again instead of the TV remote.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles