Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 3, 2013/ 23 Iyar, 5773

Too Heavy to go Light

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I wanted to write a lighter column this week, you know, like wondering why all the pot holes in town seem to congregate at the intersection near my house, or why the plastic bags inside cereal boxes cannot be opened anymore without pruning sheers, or how it is that the TV cable always seems to go wacky for a second right at the most important sentence in a show that you're been watching. But this stuff will have to wait. We've got more important fish to fry, as someone once said, probably a cook at a fish restaurant.

First up, let's go to the latest news about the Boston bomber dirt bags, as I affectionately call them. The Boston Herald has reported that The Tsarnaev family, including the suspected terrorists and their parents, benefited from more than $100,000 in taxpayer-funded assistance - a freakin' bonanza ranging from cash and food stamps to Section 8 housing from 2002 to 2012. "The breadth of the benefits the family was receiving was stunning," said a person with knowledge of documents handed over to a legislative committee today.

The state has handed over more than 500 documents to the 11-member House Post Audit and Oversight Committee, which today met for the first time and plans to call in officials from the Department of Transitional Assistance to testify. "I can assure members of the public that this committee will actively review every single piece of information we can find because clearly the public has a substantial right to know what benefits, if any, this family or individuals accused of some horrific crimes were receiving," said state Rep. David Linsky (D-Natick), the committee's chairman.

Wow, is this a great country or what? Beg America for asylum so you can escape from your third world hellhole and America says, "Sure thing, bro. Come on down!" Then once you get in, work the system for all the welfare, medical, free food, school tuitions, and Obama cell phones you can get your grubby swarthy hands on while all the while planning to kill as many Americans as you can. Sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me! "Come on in, everybody! Take your best shot!"

But wait. Don't leave me yet. I've got the best part of this thing coming right up. After the first Islamic Jihadist brother was killed and the second one was taken into custody, the FBI began to interrogate him, right? I mean that's what you want the Feds to do, in order to find out if the dirtbags were working with anyone else and if so, who and where they are. This is really important info to get out of this guy because we'd like to try and keep another terrorist attack from happening, right?

So what happens? Eric Holder and his Department of Justice rushes in dragging a federal district court judge with them just sixteen hours after investigators began interrogating the younger bastard. He was quickly Mirandized and stopped talking after being read his constitutional rights. Wham! He clamed up tighter than the Obama administration being questioned about Benghasi. This totally took the FBI by surprise and closed down the questioning right then and there. This human garbage has now "lawyered up". We may never know what information the Feds could have gotten out of him if they weren't stopped by the DOJ.

And on top of everything else we have the media turning the whole thing into a Jihadist version of "The Bachelor." Have you seen the hot, hunky photos of the two murderers that the mainstream media have been drooling over in their newscasts? Shots of them working out, doing boxing, playing sports, etc. Just a couple of cool dudes doing all kinds of cool macho stuff. What the hell is the matter with our so-called news media anyway? Why are they making these bums into sexy beefcake hotties?

The internet is filled with thousands of stupid teenage (and maybe not so teenage) girls who would like to "date" the living brother. Why so many idiotic women want to sleep with mass murderers is something I will never understand, but it has been going on forever. ("OMG, murdering dirtbags are sooo cute!") What isn't cute is when our main news sources play into that derangement. An American press is which is completely devoid of any semblance of what once was called, "journalistic ethics." CBS' "60 Minutes" even interviewed a former girl friend of one of these two who cooed into the camera saying just how "floored" she was and how much she cared for him. This turned the events upside-down - making the bomber the victim.

Splashing their "cool photos" across the internet and television screens is exactly what psychos like these want to happen! They want the glory, the celebrity, the glam. They crave the media attention to their cause and if all the dopey girls fall in love with them, well, how great is that? Giving terrorists the celebrity treatment gives all the other potential murderers even more incentive to "just do it."

Listen, these bums may not get their 72 virgins in heaven but one thing is for damn sure, they'll be immortalized in the American media and thousands of girls will swoon over them. Not too bad for the price of a pressure cooker and a few nails.

Stay tuned for next week's column when I excerpt parts from my new book, "How did my glasses disappear when I haven't moved from this chair in an hour?"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast