Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 23, 2010 / 9 Iyar 5770

Justice at Last

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | And now for some GOOD news for a change. A serial rapist/murderer was executed. The only bad part was that it took over twenty years to get it done. Way back in 1988 Darryl Durr was found guilty of the kidnap, rape and murder of 16 year old Angel Vincent and ever since then he and his lawyers have been engaged in appeals. Right up until the end they tried to delay the guy's execution by claiming he was allergic to the anesthesia to be used in the lethal injection. Too allergic to die, I guess. Fortunately his ridiculous appeal was denied and he was finally put to death.


I love the way these defense shysters claim "cruel and unusual punishment" for bums who commit the most cruel and unusual crimes against weak, innocent kids. Durr got to live 22 additional years after he raped and murdered Angel Vincent, that's longer than his victim's entire life. "But Greg, he was in prison all that time. Isn't that punishment enough?" No, it isn't. You see, even though he was in jail, he was alive; he was still able to breath, to enjoy many of the pleasures of life. He was able to enjoy the taste of food, to smell flowers, to watch television, listen to radio and music, read, and exercise. His 16 year old victim was dead.


The murderer's defense lawyer, Kathleen McGarry told the Ohio District Court last week that she found evidence that Durr was allergic to anesthesia after reviewing his 800-page medical history report. McGarry said in court documents she wasn't aware of the exact allergy Durr had, but wanted to make sure it didn't include thiopental sodium, the anesthetic Ohio uses in its lethal injection.


"One of the things the Ohio Constitution guarantees is that he has a quick and painless execution," McGarry said to the Associated Press last week. If he's going to react to the anesthetic drugs in such a manner that he's going to have a violent reaction, either vomiting or seizures or whatever the spectrum is that could happen, then obviously the execution has problems," she said. I wonder how quick and painless Angel Vincent's death was at the hands of McGarry's demented client.


What we really need in our legal system is a truly fair definition of what constitutes "cruel and unusual punishment." I'm a fair guy. I wouldn't want a person to get punished beyond the crime that he perpetrated. That, in my opinion, would be "cruel and unusual punishment." However, I'm a firm believer in equality. You should get what you give.

Letter from JWR publisher


If I were king of the world, I would say that murderers should receive punishment which is equal to the level of pain and suffering that they perpetrated on their victim. No more, no less. Equal rights. In my view, it is not cruel and unusual to give the murderer the same thing that he gave his victim. Doesn't that make sense?


This bum kidnapped, raped, and then strangled a 16 year old to death. Can you imagine the level of torture that kid went through? It seems to me that dying by a lethal injection after 22 years of additional life is pretty darn "humane" for this murderer. Much better than he deserves, actually. This murderer should have been snuffed out twenty years ago.


So many states are going through budget problems. Prisons are over-crowded. But instead of relaxing parole requirements and giving some felons early release, here's a better idea on how to solve the over-crowded prison conditions: start executing the ones who are on death row. Wow! Does that sound CRUEL? Does that sound SHOCKING?


I wonder how we got to a point in our society where so many of us are fine with letting convicted murderers go free, while at the same time having no problem with allowing partial birth abortions on demand. An innocent baby's life is worth nothing but a rapist/murderer's life is worth saving. How do people reconcile this? I don't get it. Maybe I just didn't go to the right schools.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles