Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 20, 2012/ 28 Nissan, 5772

Sounds like 'Lawyer'

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ahh, spring is here and once again all kinds of things are blooming, I mean besides flowers, like blooming idiots. Check out this bunch of Isn't it interesting that the word "lawyer" is close in sound to the word "liar"? I don't have anywhere to go with that, I just thought it was an interesting thought - not funny, just interesting. Another interesting thought: notice how the press is attempting to make a big deal out of the fact that Mitt Romney is a Mormon? How come the press doesn't have a problem with Senate Democrat majority leader Harry Reid, who is also a Mormon? We don't hear much about that. Oh wait a minute, I forgot, it's only the Republican Mormons who are bad.

And when it comes to "out of the mainstream" American religion, John Kennedy was thought to be exactly that as a Catholic back in 1960. And no big deal is made on the fact that our current president, Barack Obama, went to Muslim schools in Indonesia. And, as an adult, he attended services for over twenty years at a Chicago church that espoused the Black Liberation Marxist theology under the leadership of Jeremiah Wright, a man who is an adamant hater of America, Israel, and "the white man."

Both of Obama's children were baptized at that church by the man who said "G0od damn America!" and said the US was to blame for the September 11th attacks, and claimed that the AIDS virus was invented by white America to kill black people. I don't seem to recall any Mormon preachers spewing that level of hate.

But to the liberal press Black Liberation Theology is just fine. It's those wicked, sneaky, dangerous Mormons we have to worry about. They are the real hate mongers, the real threats to America, right behind the Amish and the Quakers. It's like saying "don't worry about that escaped grizzly bear, but beware of kittens, and puppies."

The press is also giving Romney a bad time because he happens to be rich. Rich is bad, you see. Romney is too rich to be able to identify with the vast majority of Americans, they say. The liberal press says that he's out of touch with the poor because he has been too successful. No, no, we can't have any of those successful rich guys running for president, can we? Or CAN we? Let's think about this for a minute, there just might be a double standard at work here.

Why wasn't being rich a bad thing when John Kerry was running for president? Excuse me, what about the Kennedys? John, Bobby, and Teddy were pretty rich, remember? And President Franklyn Delano Roosevelt wasn't exactly born in a log cabin either. Hmmm…maybe it's only the rich REPUBLICANS who are bad? Yeah, that's it! Rich Democrats like FDR, JFK, John Edwards, and Nancy Pelosi are upstanding wonderful people; it's those pesky, rascally Republicans that are bad. But then again, as far as the liberal media is concerned, ALL republicans are bad, rich or poor, right? So, there you go.

Another thing the liberal press jumps on Romney for is being too "stiff." Really? Obama isn't exactly mister loosey-goosey either. I know the press likes to portray Barack as a cool dude, but the pomposity and stiffness always seems to seep through to me. There is an unusual guardedness to his bearing and an attitude just shy of nasty. He always looks like the know-it-all uptight professor, not at all an easy to talk to regular guy. President Clinton was loose, (maybe a tad too loose). President Reagan was loose and totally comfortable in his skin. Even George W. Bush was pretty loose. Obama is not.

Okay, let's recap . . . .Mitt Romney is too Mormon and too wealthy and too stiff to be president. What else is wrong with him? Oh yeah, he can't connect with women; he doesn't know what they really want. Well, no kidding. Does ANY man know what women want? That has been the mystery of the ages, the question that has bedeviled mankind for more than five thousand years. What do women want? I mean besides the ability to get into their skinny jeans. It's more than chocolate, wind chimes, bottled water, and scented candles, I can tell you that.

If anyone knows just what it is that women want, please drop me a line, I'd love to know. I'll also pass it along to Romney.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast