Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 19, 2013/ 9 Iyar, 5773

Terrorism in Boston

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last year President Obama was roundly criticized for not calling the Benghazi attack "an act of terrorism" so it's no wonder that the administration quickly labeled the bombings at the Boston Marathon an act of terrorism this week. At a press conference the morning after the explosions Obama said, "This was a heinous and cowardly act. And given what we now know about what took place, the FBI is investigating it as an act of terrorism. Any time bombs are used to target innocent civilians it is an act of terror." Thank you President Obama for finally being honest.

Too bad some of our newspapers and news services don't have the guts to do the same. The print edition of the Los Angeles Daily News not only didn't use the word "terrorist" in their story, they couldn't even bring themselves to report that the bombs were purposely set by anyone at all. Someone reading the story who just flew down from Mars would think that the explosions were some natural occurrence or a broken gas line.

The paper used the words "bombs," "blasts," and "explosions," to describe what happened but never gave a cause for the bombs, blasts, and explosions, even though within hours of the attack investigative officials said that the bombs contained shrapnel made up of ball bearings, nails and other metal fragments put together in the same fashion as roadside IEDs in Afghanistan and Iraq.

The online version of the paper did use the dreaded "t" word but with the weasely caveat "That terrorists might have struck again in the U.S." MIGHT have? Using the word might is the cowardly way of dancing around what we know was most definitely an act of terrorism. It MIGHT have been terrorists or it MIGHT be the work of undocumented leprechauns. Or it MIGHT be spontaneous combustion. Who's to say?

I can't explain why the media skirts the use of the word terrorist, except that I guess they don't want to hurt the feelings of terrorists.

As I write this, investigators still haven't found the perpetrators of this terrorist bombing and no one person or group has taken credit for it. Hopefully by the time you read this, they will have found and arrested the responsible evil bastards. The good news is that only three lives were lost, it might have been many more - the Boston Marathon attracts thousands to its streets.

This is the first terrorist bombing in our country since 9/11 and because of that it jars us, bringing back all the horrifying memories of that fateful day. Authorities are saying that we Americans are a strong people, a brave people, so we will not let this terrorism frighten us. That sounds good, but it actually isn't true. Government authorities will react.

What this means to us all, in our everyday lives, is we can count on even tighter security being put into play by government. More barriers will be put up, more security guards and increased scanners will be used at ever more sporting venues, theme parks, and other places where large numbers of people gather. We will lose a little more of our precious freedom to move easily and without fear throughout our country.

Just as the hijacking of those planes on 9/11 brought about tighter security on airplanes, look for this incident to increase security at marathon races, parades, street fairs, circuses, community open houses and any number of other like events which attract many people to one place. Will we be seeing pat downs at parades? Will we have to go through security screening before entering our shopping malls and every single office building and store?

The monsters that blow up innocent people have not succeeded in taking down western civilization or destroying America, not by a long shot. However, they have succeeded in altering the way we live and move about. We Americans aren't quite as free and easy as we once were.

As we mourn for those who were killed and maimed in Boston, let's remember that if we are ever to defeat terrorism we need to call it by its proper name. There is such a thing as evil in our world and we must identify it whenever it rears up. Newspapers and other media need to be honest in their reporting. Even if it means that calling terrorists "terrorists" offends the feelings of terrorists.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast