Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 4, 2014 / 4 Nissan, 5774

Celebrating love and life

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Strange times we live in, eh? This has been one of the driest winters on record in Southern California and yet it was cold enough for me to light the fireplace on the last night of March. Meanwhile, they froze their tushys off this past winter on the east coast. The unpredictability of the weather is nothing new. It's been going on for centuries and will continue that way with or without the human equation involved.

April 9th is my anniversary. It's also my wife's anniversary, and believe me I couldn't have done it without her. So happy 36th anniversary dear wife! I love you!

In the larger scheme of things, 1978 wasn't really that long ago, but in many ways it is a world away from 2014. Think about it. In 1978 there were no cell phones at all. No iPhones, iPods, no personal computers, no internet, no twitter, no e-mail, no cable TV channels, no Xboxes or Play Stations, no "selfies." Televisions still had dials as did many telephones. There were no Sony Walkman, no Roller Blades, no artificial hearts, no disposable cameras, no DNA fingerprinting, no human growth hormone, no MTV and certainly no HDTV.

There were no "bike lanes," no hybrid cars, no SUV's, no Viagra, no Cialis, and no explicate television commercials for adult personal products. Pornography was still something only seen in adult movie houses or in dirty magazines, and kids were not exposed to it the way they are now. People didn't walk around drinking bottled water, getting Botox injections, hiring life coaches and putting their little boys on Ritalin. There were no CDs, no DVDs and no Netflix.

There were no leaf blowers, hip-hop music, or legal marijuana. Teenagers were not using drugs like cocaine and heroin to the extent that they are doing them today. There was still shame attached to out of wedlock pregnancies. There were not yet 15 to 20 million illegal aliens in the country, and most blue-collar jobs in building construction, meat processing plants, factories, and restaurant and hotel industries were still held by American citizens.

In 1978 radical Islamic terrorism was not yet a worldwide threat to Western values. The cold war with the Soviet Union was still on. Berlin was still a divided city, the East walled in by Communism. Japan was strong and China was still very much an isolated enemy of the free world. The United States of America was still considered the greatest nation on earth. Even though President Carter was weakening out image considerably around the globe, President Reagan would soon change that and develop his doctrine of "peace through strength."



When we got married in 1978 there was no Justin Bibber, no Jessica Simpson, no Britney Spears, no Lindsay Lohan, no Miley Cyrus, and no Zac Efron. On the other hand, there was Bette Davis, Bob Hope, Ginger Rogers, Fred Astaire, Jimmy Durante, Audrey Hepburn, Frank Sinatra, and Helen Hayes.

We had plenty of words in 1978 but back then there were no such things as blogs, google, bromance, sexting, bling, cloning, road rage, metrosexuals, the war against women, laptops, Dolby surround sound, podcasts, fracking, and twerking. Tattoos were seen only on sailors, sideshow freaks, jungle natives, and prisoners. The only ones who had facial piercings were primitive tribal people who lived far from civilization.

If you went out for dinner in 1978 you dressed up. If you went to church or synagogue you dressed up. If you went on a date (remember dating?) you dressed up. No dressing up today to go anywhere, expect maybe a funeral or a costume party.

So yes, things have changed quite a bit since we were married back in the ancient days of 1978. Fortunately for Jane and me, we're still here, still married, still in love and still laughing. And I guess that says a lot after 36 years.

Sure, I think we'll get dressed up and go out for dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. We'll have a drink and toast each other's good fortune.

Then, if it's still cold enough, I'll make a fire when we get home.

Greg Crosby Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California.

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast