Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 2, 2010 / 18 Nissan 5770

Birth and Death

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The rejuvenating effects of springtime are all around us. New growth on the bushes and trees can be seen all over, the blossoms on my wife's newly planted rose bushes are starting to open now and we're very excited about that. The grass is sparkling bright green, the air crispy and clean. As they say, spring is a time for rebirth. Spring is a youthful season, an awakening period for nature. But as the young enter, the old depart. That's how it works. Such is life.


With this coming of spring three early television stars have passed away. As a child of 50's and 60's TV I remember them well. Fess Parker, Peter Graves, and Robert Culp all played television heroes during the heyday of television heroes.


Robert Culp had been a television favorite for 50 years starting with the western series "Trackdown" in 1957. He was best known for "I Spy" (1965-68) in which he played secret agent Kelly Robinson opposite Bill Cosby. Culp and Cosby remained friends after the show went off the air and were reunited in 1994 in "I Spy Returns." Culp also played the hardboiled crime-busting federal agent Bill Maxwell on "The Greatest American Hero" from 1981-83.


Culp co-stared in Paul Mazursky's wife-swapping 1969 feature film "Bob & Carol & Ted & Alice" with Elliot Gould, Natalie Wood, and Dyan Cannon. He also worked as a television director from time to time. In later years he had a recurring role on "Everybody Loves Raymond" as Ray Barone's father-in-law. Robert Culp was 79.


Peter Graves worked as a musician and radio actor before entering films with 1950's "Rogue River." He starred in a string of low budget sci-fi pictures in the early fifties but then made Billy Wilder's "Stalag 17" (1953), in which Graves was first-rate as a supposedly all-American POW who turned out to be a vicious Nazi spy. Then he played Shelley Winters' doomed husband in "Night of the Hunter" (1955).


I first came to know him, however, on television's "Fury," a series about "a horse and the boy who loved him," as they said. The show ran five years beginning in 1955 and then went into reruns for years after that. What I didn't know at the time was that Peter Graves was the younger brother of Marshall Matt Dillon, well, James Arness of "Gunsmoke."


In 1966, Peter Graves replaced Steven Hill as head of the force on the weekly TV adventure series "Mission: Impossible." The show went on until 1973. In 1980 Graves co-starred in the feature comedy hit "Airplane" playing an airline pilot. Although the film was a spoof on airplane disaster movies, Graves played his part dead straight and was wonderful in it.

Letter from JWR publisher

Peter Graves effortlessly maintained his reliable, authoritative movie persona into the '90s and 2000s, and hosted the Biography series on A&E, for which he won an Emmy; he also guest-starred on programs including Cold Case, House and American Dad. He died at the age of 83.


I don't think any TV hero of the 1950's made as much of an impression on me as did Fess Parker's "Davy Crockett." I adored him. I had Davy's coonskin cap, Davy's rifle (Old Betsy), and any other Crockett merchandise I could cajole my parents into buying me. I was the perfect age when The Davy Crockett phenomenon hit.


Originally from Texas, Fess Parker began acting professionally in 1951 as a stage performer in the national company of Mister Roberts with Henry Fonda. Shortly afterward, he made his film debut in Untamed Frontier, with Joseph Cotton and Shelly Winters. Then in 1954, Walt Disney signed Parker to play the title role in Davy Crockett, King of the Wild Frontier.


As Crockett, he toured 13 foreign countries and 42 cities. Fess Parker continued to star in numerous Disney box office hits such as, "Old Yeller," "The Great Locomotive Chase" and "Westward Ho the Wagons!" He also rode beside Walt Disney as the main attraction during the opening of Disneyland in 1955. Later under contract with Paramount Pictures, Parker made three films before filling in for Howard Keel as Curly in the musical tour of Oklahoma.


In 1964 Parker began filming his network television series, Daniel Boone. During six years as one of the highest rated shows of its time, Parker not only starred in the series but co-produced it and directed five of its most popular episodes. In 1968, the U.S. Post Office Department issued a six-cent Daniel Boone commemorative stamp.


In his later years Fess Parker became active in real estate development, opening a couple of hotels and a winery. I had the good fortune to meet him at his Red Lion Resort Hotel at a Disney studio retreat I was a part of some years ago. I even presented him with a large color sketch I made of Mickey Mouse dressed as Davy Crockett which we all signed as a "thank you" to him. He was a warm gracious man, just the guy you would expect him to be. Very much like his Crockett persona.


How many of us get the chance to actually meet one of our heroes in person? Well, I did and I'll never forget it. Fess Parker will always be King of the Wild Frontier to me.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles