Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 29, 2013/ 18 Nissan, 5773

Street People

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | How do you feel about street people? Calling those poor souls who live in filth, sleep on city streets, occupy our public libraries and beg for money "homeless" has always been a stupid label in my opinion. I much prefer to refer to them simply as street people, because that's what they are - people who exist on the streets.

"The Homeless" sounds as if they are normal everyday people just like you and me, except for the fact they have no home. It's like if they only had a home they would be normal, productive people. Really? This couldn't be further from the truth. Although there are some exceptions, most of these pitiful individuals are either alcoholics, drug addicts, mentally ill, or any combination thereof. They are not normal well-balanced people, not by a long shot. It's pathetic and disgraceful of course.

I've written about this before, but it really hit home for me as I was driving to the supermarket around 10:00 in the morning recently. I glanced over and saw a guy walking in the street along the gutter wearing a big heavy bedspread draped over his shoulders, shaking his head and talking to himself. He looked like he hadn't been in water since maybe the last time it rained, or maybe not even then. Disgusting doesn't come close to describing his condition. And this was in a pretty nice residential neighborhood.

Later, after I shopped and was on my way back home, I saw another street person. This time it was a woman sitting against a low cinderblock wall; her belongings in a heap beside her. She had a sad dirty dog lying nearby. Just like the man I saw with the bedspread, she was talking to the air. Her toothless mouth going a mile a minute, her empty eyes staring at nothing, and her poor dog stretched out on the sidewalk looking forlorn.

Why are there so many of these people now? This may come as a shock to some folks under the age of forty, but America wasn't always this way. When I grew up in the fifties and sixties the only time I saw street people was the rare times when we went into downtown LA and saw bums on skid row. In those days most people with severe mental illness or alcohol addiction were in hospitals or treatment centers, not on the streets.

What has come to be known as today's "homelessness" started in the 1970s with what was called the "deinstitutionalisation" of patients from state psychiatric hospitals. This was a major factor that laid the ground work of the homeless population, especially in urban areas such as New York City. Some say that Ronald Reagan's signing of the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act greatly exacerbated homelessness among the mentally ill. This law lowered the standards for involuntary commitment in civil courtrooms and was followed by significant de-funding of 1700 hospitals caring for mental patients. But homeless problem really started at least a decade before that.

The Community Mental Health Act of 1963 really set the stage for homelessness in the United States. Long term psychiatric patients were released from state hospitals into SROs (single resident occupancy houses) and were supposed to be sent to community mental health centers for treatment and follow-up. At least that was the idea, but it didn't work out that way. The community mental health centers mostly did not materialize, and suddenly these people largely were found living in the streets with no sustainable support system. The mentally ill joined the drug addicts and alcoholics sleeping in doorways, roaming the streets, and defecating in public.

Today it has turned into an industry, there's even lobby groups associated with these street people. Politicians and lawyers along with the ACLU have gotten into the mix, turning these pathetic souls into a new civil rights minority group. The focus is not on getting these people off the streets and into the proper institutions, but rather to demand their "right" to live on the street or wherever. As we know, police don't round up vagrants anymore or even chase them away. That would be a violation of their civil rights. The so-called homeless even have their own web sites now.

I'm not saying the "good old days" were perfect. But back in the day when the mentally ill were being treated by doctors in mental institutions, and the alcoholics were drying out at facilities where they were being monitored, and the drug addicts were in addiction treatment centers, seems to me to be a better solution for all concerned. What is REALLY SICK is having addicted, deranged people on the streets that are unable to care for themselves. We should be ashamed.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast