Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 27, 2009 / 2 Nisan 5769

Blowin' In the Wind

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | How about those winds, eh? They seemed to come out of nowhere and before we knew it the flower pots, both empty and full, were dancing all over the yard. The wind chimes were singing a song I never heard before but it didn't sound like "Silver Bells." It sounded an awful lot like that sequence in "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" when Charles Laughton as Quasimodo jumps on top of all the enormous bells up in the steeple and bongs his little brains out while causing poor Esmeralda to almost go stone deaf.


All the trees were dancing in time to the music of the Quasimodo wind chimes, including the huge old pine near the kitchen window. If that tree ever fell into the house while we were inside my wife and I would both be looking like Quasimodo on a bad hair day. Just a bit of gusty wind, nothing to worry about, right? Sure. That's what they told Dorothy just before her house was ripped off its foundations and swept her away to another stratosphere - yes, and her little dog, too.


These weren't the notorious California Santa Anna winds (or Sauna Anna as I call them because of their hot sauna like temperature). These winds now were a bit on the cold side and were behaving very mischievously. These were bad boy winds. My wife ran outside, Don Quixote fashion; in a brave attempt to do battle face to face with these blustery currents. She scurried about securing her plants, rearranging her flower pots and battening down her hatches. I watched from the window where it was safe and warm. Now and then she'd look over to me as she ran around and I'd flash her a friendly smile and wave. Flower pots and wind chimes are women's work. Besides I was busy checking out what movies TCM would be showing that night - clearly men's work.


"What is it with this place?" my wife asked to no one in particular. "We don't get gentle breezes, we get gale force winds. We don't get nice little rain showers, we get deluges that bring down hillsides and flood the valleys." I didn't answer her; her questions required no response from me. It was just Jane missing the East Coast again. Ah, yes, the good old days of blizzards, bone-chilling winters, frozen pipes, black ice on the highways, hurricanes, and summers with temperatures that can range from 98 degrees during the day to 96 degrees at night.


I watched form my window as the sun slowly went down, the winds left, then the winds came back. Then the winds left. Then the winds came back. Fickle winds, these. Here one minute, gone the next. This went on all the rest of the day and into the evening. At one point we heard what sounded like an electrical power surge from one of the tall electrical transformers outside near the house. We braced ourselves for a power outage, thankfully it never happened. "Light a candle," my wife said. I wondered if she was going to say a prayer of thanks or something, but then I realized she wanted it lit in case the lights went out.


Although the night grew cold I opted NOT to light a nice cozy fire in the fireplace in the den - I'd been there and done that before. A romantic, cozy fireplace fire on a windy day is not the best idea, unless of course your idea of romantic and cozy entails watching a back draft of smoke blow down your chimney and all through your house.


Eventually the winds, as it must come to all of us, died. They left almost as quickly as they came and I must say they did very little damage to anything. Fortunately we never lost any electrical power, no trees fell, no roofs came off, and we didn't wind up in the merry old land of OZ. My wife's potted plants took the major brunt of the storm, with a bent stem here and there and a loss of some potting soil and a couple of flower buds. I would say we got off "Scot free" as they might put it in the old Western movies, but you'd better ask my wife, she may have another opinion. In any case, on the scale of all time natural disasters, I'd say we weathered this one rather nicely. And I did it all from the safety of my own little window.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles