Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 23, 2012/ 29 Adar, 5772

Left-Wing Ice Cream

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Welcome to modern day America, where even ice cream has political consequences.

I think lots of people who pay attention know that the Ben & Jerry Ice Cream company supports left-wing causes - for many years. Liberals who know this are okay with it and those of us who are not liberal simply don't buy that brand of ice cream. Years ago when I first found out that Ben & Jerry were using a percentage of their profits to support Progressive and socialistic endeavourers I decided then and there that there was plenty of other ice cream brands I could buy without supporting a company with an ideology that I don't believe in.

However there are many (millions) of people who just don't pay attention to such things and have no idea that their money goes to Leftist political causes every time they buy Chunky Monkey or any other flavor by Ben Cohen & Jerry Greenfield. Ben & Jerry's are proud to be liberal ideologues - just go to their web site and see for yourself. I say let them be as liberal as they want.

But every perspective customer should know where their money is going whenever they buy a product from a company with a hard-line political agenda. So to all those who may not have been aware of what you're helping support when you buy B & J Ice Cream, stay tuned, you just might learn something.

Remember nut job Cindy Sheehan, the "anti-war activist" and darling of the Left who protested at President Bush's ranch and who still speaks at anti-American rallies around the country and quotes from Chairman Mao? Well, Ben Cohen's foundation funded the multi million dollar PR machine for Sheehan's activities. Cohen's foundation also helps ANSWER, a neo-Marxist group that promotes Islamic terrorism.

And the Ben & Jerry's company itself has its own foundation, which you fund when you buy their ice cream. The list of recipients of this fund includes groups who give support for illegal aliens, community organizing, an anti-marriage group, and a foundation that helps teachers turn elementary and middle school kids into far-left critics "of their social and political landscape."

One of B & J's most famous flavors is Cherry Garcia named after Jerry Garcia, a druggie rock musician with The Grateful Dead. A regular LSD user, Garcia became one of the symbols of '60's "drop out and drop acid" movement. What a wonderful character to honor with his own flavor of ice cream! Back in 2009 Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream came out with a new flavor, Hubby Hubby (changed from Chubby Hubby ice cream) in solidarity with gays who had attained legalized marriage in Vermont (home of Ben &Jerry's).

And last fall Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream came out with a statement supporting the Occupying Wall Street crowd. But now it gets even better! As of a few weeks ago Occupy Wall Street (OWS) now has an official corporate backer - that's right, those wacky ice cream guys. OWS's corporate benefactor is the so-called Movement Resource Group, a funding venture backed by the left-wing founders of Ben & Jerry's ice cream as well as other "social justice" lefties. The group has raised some $300,000 so far, and plans to raise around $1.8 million to revive the moribund Occupy movement.

Isn't that weird? And all this time I thought that OWS was AGAINST those rich corporations. I guess if the rich corporation is giving you money then that makes it all hunky-dory, right? No hypocrisy there. Thanks to B&J, the Occupy Wall Street thugs have effectively gotten a "corporate bailout."

Dispensing funds to a broad spectrum of left-wing groups, from ACORN to the Tides Foundation, the ice cream makers have never seen a contradiction between their commercial success and their intense loathing of free-market capitalism. No hypocrisy there.

In recent years their foundation has endorsed the "Earth Charter," a document that blames capitalism on the world's environmental, social and economic ills. The charter declares that "the dominant patterns of production and consumption are causing environmental devastation, the depletion of resources, and a massive extinction of species" and blames capitalism for causing the "gap between rich and poor."

When Ben & Jerry's issued their statement of solidarity with the Occupy protesters on their web site last fall they praised them for raising issues of "fundamental importance to all of us," and pronouncing themselves "honored to join you in this call to take back our nation and democracy." Ben and Jerry's also endorsed the movement's grievances, bemoaning the fact that "corporations are permitted to spend unlimited resources to influence elections while stockpiling a trillion dollars rather than hiring people."

Interestingly that opposition to corporate money in politics doesn't seem to apply to Ben & Jerry's, which is now trying to spend millions to influence the political process through OWS. Maybe it's time for B & J to name a special flavor after their beloved Occupy Wall Street mob. Street Filth Fudge or Vulgarian Nut Swirl are two possible flavors that come to mind.

You know, you can flavor garbage with a million ingredients, and it will still be garbage. As for me, I'll take vanilla. But I'll take it from another company, thank you.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast