Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 23, 2010 / 8 Nissan 5770

Welcome to the Obamanation

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | One of our most optimistic presidents, Ronald Reagan once said, "It's morning in America." Well, things have changed. I'm not so optimistic these days, so I'll just say, It's MOURNING in America and things will never be the same again. We now live in a far different country than we were living in before Sunday night when government controlled socialized medicine was voted in by the Democrats in Congress. We will, from now on, have less personal freedom and more government control. That, in a nutshell, is the change that has taken place. This is a fact.


Obama promised change, and lots of people thought that sounded great. And lots of people voted him into office. Well, here it is, folks. You got your change now… big time. Obama said in his campaign speech, "We live in the greatest nation in the history of the world. I hope you'll join me as we try to change it." At the time it sounded like a joke, a misstatement, but he meant it. He's kept his promise, he has now changed America. Welcome to the U.S.A., the United Sweden of America.


Welcome to bigger, soviet-style government in every way. Redistribution of wealth, more entitlement programs, more government bureaucrats, higher taxes, doctor shortages, long waits for medical procedures, and less choice in medical care overall. The federal government has taken over another entire industry that once was private.


The following is from the lead editorial of The Wall Street Journal the Monday after Obamacare passed: "House Democrats last night passed President Obama's federal takeover of the U.S. heath-care system … This week's votes don't end our health-care debates. By making medical care a subsidiary of Washington, they guarantee such debates will never end. And by ramming the vote through Congress on a narrow partisan majority, and against so much popular opposition, Democrats have taken responsibility for what comes next - to insurance premiums, government spending, doctor shortages and the quality of care. They are the rulers of American medicine."

Letter from JWR publisher


But this bill was not really about medicine, or helping the downtrodden, or making healthcare available to all or anything like that. This was all about the federal government taking over an enormous portion of the private sector. Big brother controlling the masses. And if you like the way the post office has been running, and if you like the DMV, and if you like the Internal Revenue Service, then you're going to LOVE the way Washington controls your health-care.


And if you DON'T like it, what then? What are you going to do, go to a different country? That's what many people did in foreign countries that had socialized medicine up until now. The ones that could, came here so that they could get a better quality of doctors and medical care. The world knew that the best medical care in the world was in the United States. Now there's no place for them to go … and there's no place for us to go.


Yes, Obama and his leftist cronies in the Democratic Party have brought change, but this is only the beginning. As Victor Davis Hanson writes, " So we are in revolutionary times in which the government will grow to assume everything from energy use to student loans, while abroad we are a revolutionary sort of power, eager to mend fences with Syria and Iran, more eager still to distance ourselves from old Western allies like Israel and Britain." Change indeed.


The one problem with our form of government has always been this; we are a government of the people, and by the people. There's nothing wrong with that as long as the people are well informed, hard working, principled, and religious. That's right, I said religious, because the Judeo - Christian beliefs were paramount in the founding of our country. Without a firm belief in God and his commandments to guide us, we are lost. Believers in God founded the United States of America. Atheists founded Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union.


When most people want to do the right things, the old fashioned things like uphold the golden rule, work hard to get ahead, do unto others the way you would have others do unto you, take care of your family, give to charity, and do good deeds, then America can't lose. But when the majority turns away from these ideas, when the majority becomes self-centered, lazy, and greedy, then we're sunk. We vote for empty promises of milk and honey for all, and what we get are false gods and lies.


For socialists, Marxists, and others who believe in the Communistic way, this change in America is cause for celebration. For the rest of us, it is sadly, mourning in America. Sorry President Reagan. I guess we just couldn't hold on to it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles