Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 19, 2010 / 4 Nissan 5770

The More Complete Movie-going Experience

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I don't have a lot of "movie-going experiences" anymore. The fact is they just aren't making pictures for me these days. Today's movies are mostly in two flavors: one for thrill-seeking computer game-playing boys, and the other for Cinderella-fantasizing adolescent girls. So once in a blue moon when a movie does come out with a bit of adult sophistication and subject matter that interests me, I like to see it. I still enjoy the "movie going experience."


Suddenly two movies came out which held interest for me. One of them, "Shutter Island" I saw a few weeks ago. The other movie…well, that experience is the basis for this week's column.


It happened last week when a friend and I went to a movie theater and noticed that the bottom third of the screen was out of focus. When it was brought to the attention of the theater manager he said that it can't be fixed and besides, we shouldn't expect the projected image to be in total focus anyway - it is impossible. If you try to get the bottom part sharp, he went on to say, then the top will be out of focus. It just can't be done. No, the entire screen image simply cannot be in focus at the same time. He talked to us as if we have never seen a movie projected in a theater before.


Well, you can't fool me. I've actually seen a movie projected before so I know that it IS possible for the entire image to be in focus. Ah, but the manager continued in his condescending manner. He held up a ballpoint pen (representing a movie projector) and placed it against the wall with one hand, while holding up a sheet of paper (representing the movie screen) facing the pen straight on with his other hand. That's right - the guy used props to demonstrate to the two dummies how a movie is projected onto a screen.


Without a word my friend took the man's pen and raised it up slightly and angled it downward to the sheet of paper demonstrating how an actual projector operates in the real world, but the manager didn't get it. Not at all. Finally he says, "Well, I'll give you return passes THIS TIME, but don't expect to get one every time you come to this theater."


This was "the more complete movie-going experience" I experienced at the Sherman Oaks Arc Light when I went to see "The Ghost Writer" last week.

Letter from JWR publisher


The heading on their web site states boldly: Welcome to ArcLight, where movie lovers belong. I had never been to an Arc Light movie house, but I knew that they were supposedly the Cadillac of cinemas. The picture I wanted to see was in limited distribution, the most convenient theater for me was the Sherman Oaks Arc Light. And hey, I'm a movie lover, so I figured that was where I belonged.


The web site copy continued: "ArcLight cinemas makes every movie better. In fact, that's the idea that inspired us to create a more complete movie-going experience. The experience inside the cinema auditorium is ArcLight's focal point. Designed to exceed THX standards of presentation excellence, ArcLight auditoriums begin with a "black box" design aesthetic which favors undistracted viewing over opulence, and feature the best in sight and sound technology, allowing films to be presented as the filmmakers intend."


The site goes on to explain in technical detail the projectors they use. "All auditoriums are equipped with Kinoton FP50D 35mm projectors. ArcLight is one of a handful of U.S. theaters that have made the investment in these superior German imports. Silicon sprockets allow film to run smoothly with fewer chances of stress and breakage and with less lint attracted. Glass reflectors (instead of metal) allow heat to pass through, enabling the use of higher amp bulbs which creates better light on the screen, without warping the film through repeated exposure to elevated temperatures."


And then they rhapsodize about their screens: "All screens are curved to maximize peripheral view and minimize projection distortion. They are permeable to allow full sound from rear mounted speakers, and made of light gain material to maximize brightness and clarity of the projected image. They range in size from 40 to 60 feet wide in scope format."


And this is why we brought the projection problem to their attention. It wasn't about getting a return pass, not at all. As I said, I don't go to many movies anymore so having a return pass is no big treasure for me. We just thought that a place that prides itself on offering "the more complete movie-going experience" might want to know if that experience is, shall we say, less than complete.


I'm hoping that particular manager was one bad apple and not representative of the entire barrel. If anyone in a higher position of the organization is interested in investigating this focus snafu, the auditorium is number 10. Check it out. As for me, I'm curious to try the Arc Light in Hollywood to see if the same problem exists over there. But first I have to wait for another intelligent adult movie to come out that I want to see. I may have a long wait.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles