Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 14, 2014 / 12 Adar II, 5774

I've turned the lights off on the movies

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Movies. When I was in my early twenties and just starting out at Disney it wasn't unusual for me to have gone to the movies three times a week or more. I saw all kinds of pictures, new ones, revivals, foreign, animated, cult, shorts, features, documentaries, you name it. I was a movie junkie. Now if I go out to see one or two new pictures a year it's a lot. Some years not even that much. It's a cliche to say it, but they just don't make 'em for me anymore. They make 'em mostly for 12 year olds and the few pictures that do have a semblance of adult storytelling to them are geared to the ultra-liberal mindset. I'm still a movie junkie, but today I get my movie fixes from DVD's and Turner Classic Movie channel.

I'm really getting sick and tired of how most new movies push a liberal political agenda. It's really enough already. I get it Hollywood filmmakers, you're liberal, and your message comes through loud and clear. Now, for a change, how about creating a few pictures that entertain people without any left-wing propaganda? Can it be done? It used to be the normal way of movie-making. I wonder if it's at all possible anymore.

Actually there's nothing new about this leftist trend of movie making, it started about 30 or 40 years ago, but it's been getting progressively (pardon the pun) worse as time goes on. For a long while I tried to overlook it and concentrate on the storyline, but it just isn't worth the bother anymore. At this point it appears that the mainstream movie industry simply isn't capable of producing many pictures without a liberal slant to them.


A friend mentioned recently, "I just saw "Philomena" yesterday, based on a true story - starring Judy Dench and Steven Coogan. I really enjoyed it, but I got to thinking, I wonder if Philomena's son had not been gay - would the movie have been made? Would the book have been published?" Social issues permeate the films that are made today. It seems the industry is incapable of making a straight ahead human drama like "Johnny Belinda," "How Green Was My Valley," "Marty," "All About Eve," or "The Third Man" without a progressive social message attached..

The one picture I saw this past year that was an exception to this rule was "Gravity." Sandra Bullock was sensational in it. The film was exciting, dramatic, and totally absorbing. And no liberal message hitting me over the head. Just pure entertainment. Frank Capra said it so well when he famously said, "If You Want to Send a Message, Try Western Union"

This past Academy Awards show featured a 75th anniversary tribute to "The Wizard of Oz." That's nice, but why only Oz? As critics and historians have pointed out, the year 1939 was the magic year for the movie industry. More classic films were released that year than in any other year before or since. So why not also honor "Gone with the Wind" which was made the same year? Oh, wait. Liberal politics comes into play once again. The liberal movie industry couldn't possibly honor "Gone with the Wind" in the very same year that "Twelve Years a Slave" is being honored! That would destroy the political narrative for them.

Vulgarity in the movies is another big reason I opt out these days. I don't need to spend money to see and hear ugly stuff. All I have to do is turn on my TV and I get it for free any time day or night. Even something that once was so sweet, like a kiss, is portrayed in today's movies in a vulgar way. Raunchy has replaced romantic. Here's what today's filmmakers don't get, you don't need nudity and lust to project sexuality. Just watch Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers in one of their beautiful dance numbers. My wife will tell you, it doesn't get any sexier than that.

What is it with the progressive, liberal agenda that goes hand in hand with vulgarity and ugliness? Why is that, I wonder. Is it because the progressives are always looking for ways to tear down societal norms? Do they think that by destroying civilized behavior they are making a better world? Why is vulgar preferable to gentility with these people? Why is ugly better than beauty? Disarray preferable to order? Drama doesn't always have to mean destruction.

There's plenty more I could say on this, but I've got to stop now. Casablanca is going on.

Greg Crosby Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California.

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast