Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 27, 2009 / 3 Adar 5769

Questions nobody asks

By Greg Crosby


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Everybody wants to know who the father is of the Nadya Suleman octuplets. I don't care. I don't care if there is one father or eight fathers or a tag team from another galaxy. What I want to know is why the fertility doctor involved in this isn't in jail or at the very least has had his license taken away forever. Who is this idiot? We know that SHE'S a nut job, but this so-called "doctor" is much more than just an idiot, he's a dangerous idiot. An idiot that should be put away.


And WHO are these people anyway? This insane single woman who hasn't a dime to her name already had six in vitro children administered by the same jackass doctor. And another question, who will ultimately wind up paying for all this? Where will the money come from to raise these children? Do you think maybe it will be the state of California, which means all of us who live here? Aren't you glad our governor will be raising our taxes and license fees to pay for people like this imbecilic woman? When you want to work the system you just can't beat California for a great place to live, huh?


Here's another question nobody asks. Since Obama has put a pay cap on bank executives' earnings, why not a pay cap on politicians' earnings? Why not cap the freebies and perks that members of the senate and house get from lobbyists and other crooks on a regular basis? How about cutting down on the ridiculously large government bureaucracies? You can start with the Department of Education, which should have been eliminated years ago. And speaking of obscene paydays, let's cap movie star salaries, whadda think? Gee, maybe an income of 50 million a year is a bit much when the whole country is going to hell and people can't find work. Or maybe you think Cameron Diaz is worth that (reported by Forbes).


And since I'm on a roll, here's another question. How come when Bush sent troops into Afghanistan following the 9-11 attack on our shores he was called a warmongering blood-for-oil lying killer of children, but now that Obama has decided to deploy an additional 17,000 more troops to that country we hear nothing negative about it? How come? Huh? Maybe Obama has determined that we need more troops to help in the important work of "air-raiding villages and killing civilians," as he himself described the actions of our troops in Afghanistan during his campaign.


If spay and neutering dogs and cats was supposed to control the pet population, how come there are so many more dogs and cats in the US today then before the spay and neutering trend caught on? In fact, the increase in dog and cat population over the past five to ten years has been growing in humongously obscene numbers. Even when human population gains are taken into account, there are still more homeless dogs and cats today by percentage then when my grandparents were kids. Nice work, animal groups! But I do think spay and neutering has its place. Two words: Nadya Suleman.


But of all the questions nobody asks, here's the big one: What is the deal with Oprah Winfrey? By that I don't mean anything that has to do with her personal life. No, I'm talking purely about the phenomenon that is Oprah. I know I'm in the minority on this one, but I just don't get it. I don't get the whole Oprah thing. I've watched the show, I've listened to the woman, I've tried to get it, but I don't. What is it that hundreds of millions of people see in Oprah that I don't see?


I have nothing against her. Oprah seems to be a charming, sincere lady who handles her show very well, I grant you. In a business where you're hot one year and out the next, she has remained consecutively high in the ratings. She has been at the top of the television game for over 25 years. She is more than just enormously successful; she is the most successful person ever in the history of show business.


Oprah is undeniably the biggest media mogul since Flo Ziegfeld or Louie B. Mayer - maybe bigger. She is a billionaire several times over. She runs an empire which includes publishing, television, movies, various charitable organizations and heaven knows what else. She is probably the most influential woman on earth. Is there any doubt that her support of Barak Obama helped win him the election?


But what is it about her that has so captured the soul of America's women to the degree that they would follow her just about anywhere at anytime on almost any subject? There seems to be a magnetic pull that she has on the female population. Almost like a religion, her women fans follow her teachings and advice on everything from personal relationships to dieting to spiritual fulfillment.


Oprah Winfrey has found the sweet spot in the hearts, minds, and souls of American womanhood and will undoubtedly hold on to it for many decades to come. I can't explain it. And I certainly don't get it. Must be a girly thing like wind chimes, smiley faces and candles.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles