Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 25, 2011 / 21 Adar I, 5771

Five Dollars a Gallon?

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It should have been done a long time ago. Conservative thinkers have been saying for years (decades?) that we need to build up our own oil resources here at home so we're not at the mercy of the oil Imams of the Middle East. We should have allowed more off-shore drilling. We should have allowed Alaska drilling. And shale. There are ways to do these things safely and cleanly. But it wasn't done. The environmentalists wouldn't let it happen. Not at all. Not ever. I guess they'd prefer that we bought all our oil from places like Saudi Arabia, Libya, and other OPEC members. Well, guess what? Hold on to your wallets because we're really in for it now.

The uprisings in the Middle East aren't just affecting Middle Easterners, it will impact all of us, and we will feel it soon - really soon. While the people back there are overthrowing their dictators, we in the good 'ol USA will fall further into our recession.

The LA Times reported last Wednesday, the oil price hit $100 a barrel as the revolt in Libya escalated. But it's not over, not by a long shot. Watching the real time oil prices on line is even more frightening. Experts are saying that more turmoil in the Mid East is coming and that will mean reduced supplies for the entire world. And when supplies are reduced, oil prices go up and stock prices go down. Oh, and the American economy will continue going from "The Great Recession" to "The Great Depression."

Libya alone is the 12th largest oil exporter on the planet so if we lose that resource we're losing 1.6 million barrels a day. That accounts for about 2% of global production. We've seen the uprisings go from Tunisia, to Egypt, to Libya, to Bahrain and it continues to move across the North African and Middle Eastern countries. If it spreads to Saudi Arabia then we're really cooked. The American economy simply can't be supported without Arab oil.

Between 300,000 and 400,000 barrels per day of Libyan oil output, or as much as 25% of the total, already has been shut off as the revolt has spread, according to Reuters news service. Edward Meir, senior commodity analyst at MF Global in New York, said the latest jump in crude prices reflected traders' belief that "it is just a matter of time before all [Libyan] exports are shut down." It's time for the Saudis to open their spigot wider, Meir said. "The market needs to see that the supplies are being replaced," he said.

The Saudi oil minister has pledged that they will make up and shortfalls of oil due to the uprisings in Libya. That's really nice of him to say that, but if the revolts reach Saudi Arabia all bets are off, folks. And if you think that there's no time bomb in Saudi Arabia, think again. It's already started ticking.

As reported by Reuters, hundreds of people have backed a Facebook campaign calling for a "day of rage" across Saudi Arabia on March 11 to demand an elected ruler, greater freedom for women and release of political prisoners. The page called for a "revolution of yearning" in the kingdom, which is the world's biggest oil exporter and is ruled by an absolute monarchy. As of last Wednesday morning, more than 460 people had endorsed the page.

Remember, those Arab uprisings which overthrew leaders in Tunisia and Egypt were mobilized by young people using social media networking on the internet. It's the new thing. It's the 21st Century style of organizing revolutions. Google is simply not your father's search engine anymore.

And as "the kids" take to the streets, oil prices continue to skyrocket. Wall Street experts say that gasoline prices will continue to rise. Some traders say $4 a gallon will be a reality in the not-too-distant future, and prices could shoot even higher. Prices will definitely be higher on the East Coast and West Coast than in the interior of the country.

All of this is, of course, wonderful timing for our so-called economic recovery, not to mention up-coming summer vacation driving trips. Oh yes, you're gonna love pumping $70 or $80 dollars worth of gas into your car every time you fill up…if you're lucky. Remember all those gas lines at the pump way back in the '70's? It's gonna be great. High prices AND gas lines! But remember, all we had to do since then in order to break with our reliance on foreign oil was drill in our own country. Thanks to the liberals and environmentalists, the years ahead could very possibly make us all nostalgic for the good old 1970's. Happy days are here again.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles