Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 8, 2013/ 28 Shevat, 5773

Random Stuff

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Isn't it interesting how the shortest month of the year is such a busy one? February is loaded with anniversaries, holidays, special events, and all sorts of commemorations. Three important presidents were born in this month - Washington, Lincoln, and Reagan. St. Valentines Day, Chinese New Year, Super Bowl Sunday, awards shows, and New Orleans' Mardi Gras all pushed into this month. Too bad we can't take some of this stuff and put in August, a month that has nothing.

From everything I saw, Chuck Hagel's responses to the questions posed to him at his Senate confirmation hearing were abysmal. The man looked befuddled and unsure of himself. Sometimes he had no answers; other times his answers were patently wrong and contradictory. And amazingly, as Obama's appointee for secretary of defense, he couldn't articulate the administration's stand on several major foreign affairs issues. Embarrassing doesn't even begin to describe it.

Almost every political commentator I read and listened to following the hearings agreed that Hagel's performance was the worse they'd ever seen. That he showed abject weakness, ignorance, and a lack of conviction…for anything. He proved himself ill qualified to head up one of the most important, if not THE most important cabinet positions in the country. He even said during the questioning, "I won't be in a policy-making position," essentially admitting that he will merely serve as Obama's puppet. That admission is amazing.

And yet those same political insiders say in the next breath, "but that won't keep Hagel from being confirmed. He will be the next secretary of defense." Oh really? Well then why the hell do we have conformation hearings at all? If at the end of the day, the president will get approval for his cabinet positions (no matter how unqualified they prove to be) why are we, as a country, spending the time and money going through a useless charade? Just let the president appoint whatever dummy he wants and let's get on with it. The senate needs to cut out the phony crap already and spend their time in better ways, like, oh I don't know, maybe writing a balanced budget or working out a way to shrink our national debt.

Why is it that the color hazel is only used to describe the color of eyes? No one buys hazel trousers or paints their house hazel. We don't buy a hazel car or refrigerator. We don't see crayons labeled "hazel." No one refers to anything else as having a hazel color. It's only when we speak of eye color. Why is that?

They were the voices for a generation during World War II. The Andrews Sisters sang the songs for a country at war in the forties. My mother sang those songs to me as a baby and later I watched the Andrews Sisters sing them in old Abbott and Costello movies on TV. Song hits such as "Boggie Woggie Bugle Boy of Company B," "Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree," "Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen" and so many others have stayed with me all my life even though they weren't of my generation.

Maxine, Patty and LaVerne defined jitterbugging jump tunes like no one else of their era. You can't think of swing singers without seeing them in your mind doing their little dancing while belting out "Beat Me Daddy Eight to the Bar." But it wasn't all jitterbug. They sang oh so sweetly "I Can Dream Can't I?" and "I'll Be With You in Apple Blossom Time," recoding more than 400 songs and selling over 80 million records.

They recorded with many of the famous big bands of the forties such as Benny Goodman, Glenn Miller, Jimmy Dorsey, Bob Crosby, and Woody Herman. They sang dozens of records with Bing Crosby including "Don't Fence Me In," which became a million-seller. They regularly performed with Bing on his radio show as well as singing with others like Dick Haymes, Jimmy Durante and Al Jolson.

Patty, the last surviving sister, died on January 30th at the age of 94. It may be a cliché to say so, but in this case it is so true, that her death marks the end of an era. The 1940's chapter on American music has come to an end. But it's comforting to imagine that the Andrews Sisters are now back together again somewhere, reunited in perfect harmony and once again making beautiful, happy music for all time.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast