Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 21, 2011 / 16 Shevat, 5771

The Last of the Great New York Joints

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Our recent trip to New York City included New Year's Eve at the famous 21 Club. This was the second year in a row that we dined at 21 on New Year's Eve and I guess if you had to choose a place to have your last meal (for the year, anyway) you couldn't find a better spot. I'm a sucker for historic restaurants and bars and they just don't get any more historic than 21.

The place was started during the prohibition years as a speakeasy and was actually raided by the feds at least twice. A secret wine cellar was built to hide the contraband booze in case of raids. That hidden room is still used today as a private dinning room. The building itself is in a townhouse (21 West 52nd Street) which was built in 1872, part of an entire street of townhouses.

I never had authentic Dover Sole in my life so last New Year's I saw it on their menu and asked my waiter about it. He said, "If you're ever going to try it, this is the place to do it." I did and it was absolutely the best tasting fish I have ever eaten! Since then, I have ordered Dover Soleat another restaurant, a very good place too, but it wasn't the same. That Dover Sole at 21 was something special. This time around I ordered their famous 21 Chicken Hash, not as spectacular as the sole, but very good in its own way.

The whole thing about the 21 Club is, not only is the food really good, but the place has a sexy history and reeks of old New York society. All the famous big shots from every walk of life have been to 21. Every President since FDR (with the exception of the last two) has dined there. Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall had their first date there. Alfred Hitchcock had a long-standing connection with the place. (I happen to know that one of his favorite meals was that of Dover Sole, so I'm sure he must have ordered it at 21 one form time to time).

For the most part, people dining at 21 know exactly where they are and understand what it is all about. They know they're eating at one of the last great New York hangouts and they dress for the part. People come dressed for dinner at 21, believe it or not. It really makes for a total experience. Dinner at 21 should feel special and it does. I always feel great walking in dressed in my suit, it feels right, it makes me feel like a mentsh.

The 21 Club IS New York as far as I'm concerned. It's the oldest restaurant in NYC named for its own address, by the way. I never got to The Stork Club, Toots Shores, or the Copacabana, unfortunately. They were all good ol' New York joints, places I undoubtedly would have loved. Thank goodness 21 is still around for throwbacks like me to enjoy. It would be a boring world if the only places left to go to were places like The Olive Garden and Applebee's. Even the expensive celebrity chains which offer high quality food just don't do it for me. A chain restaurant is a chain restaurant.

As you might imagine there are millions of stories about 21 and its famous patrons. One of my favorites concerns Frank Sinatra. According to legend, Frank Sinatra and Brooklyn Dodger manager Leo Durocher were dining at '21'; Sinatra was handing out $100 bills as tips to every worker in sight. They went to the men's room, and the attendant could hardly wait for his $100 but Leo said, "Frank, you have been taking care of everything all evening, let me take care of this" and, as Sinatra reluctantly acceded to that plea, Durocher reached into his pocket, fished out $1 and handed it to the attendant with a word of thanks.

I have other favorite New York restaurants but none of them has the cachet, history, and character of The 21 Club. Also, it is the place I will always remember as the special 50th birthday present from my wife. She had arranged with the management to give me a private guided tour of the infamous wine cellar which included the secret hidden door to the room they hid the liquor in, and an up-close look at the private stock of wines held for celebrity patrons, both living and dead. Shelves upon shelves of bottles with famous people's names on them, held in reserve just for them. Did I feel like someone very special that night? You bet I did. And I still do whenever I return to The 21 Club.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles