Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 18, 2013/ 7 Shevat, 5773

Gender Neutral?

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Well, here I go again writing a column that will generate a deluge of hate mail to me, to my family, and to anyone who has ever had anything to do with me in my entire life. I will be called the vilest names and I will be searched out by folks wielding pitchforks, torches, and tar and feathers. But this is an opinion column, and I am an opinion columnist, so onward I go.

On December 7th the Supreme Court announced it would agree to hear two constitutional challenges to state and federal laws dealing with the recognition of homosexual and lesbian couples to legally wed. Oral arguments will likely be held in March with a ruling by late June.

One appeal to be heard involves the federal Defense of Marriage Act or DOMA, which denies federal benefits to same sex couples legally married in their own state. The second is a challenge to California's Proposition 8, a voter-approved referendum that took away the right of same sex-marriage that previously had been approved by the state's courts. So does that mean after the justices rule we will finally have a national consensus on the matter? Don't bet on it. Any more than Roe V Wade settled the question of abortion.

I am a firm believer in being intellectually honest whenever we engage in issues regarding sweeping changes to our culture. We need to be honest with ourselves before we start "social engineering" through judicial decree what has up until now been traditional human behavior. Fact one: As politically incorrect as it may be to say so, homosexual and lesbian copulation is not normal.

So what is normal? Normal is described in dictionaries as "conforming to a standard; usual, typical, or expected. The normal state or condition." Sex acts which deviate from the norm, by definition, are not normal. Whether you're for it or against it, at least be honest enough to admit that gay sex is inherently out of step with normalcy. And it's not just a human thing; this is true for all of the animal kingdom. Heterosexuality is the way procreation works. Period. Hey, don't blame me, I didn't make it up. That's the way it's been working since time began.

This is not to say that homosexuals and lesbians should be treated badly or hated or ostracized. I'm not interested in what adults do in private, that's their business and I couldn't care less. But as a society we need to maintain certain standards of what is preferable and what is not. Without standards then anything becomes acceptable. Anything.

Another reason that same sex marriage is not healthy for society is because if it becomes the law of the land it will end gender distinction in America forever. Although I'm sure there are many progressives that applaud that, most clear thinking people would recognize that the most important distinction regarding human beings' personal identity is the man-woman distinction. But with the passage of same sex marriage that distinction will be blurred. The whole idea of gay marriage is that gender doesn't matter. Man-woman, man-man, woman-woman, hey, it's all the same.

Except that men and women are NOT the same. To believe otherwise you have to go along with the mentality of progressive elite professors in our liberal ivy-league universities, such as Harvard, who this past year appointed its first permanent director of bisexual, gay, lesbian, transgender, and queer student life. The person, Vanidy Bailey, has asked that he/she never be referred to as he or she, male or female. And Harvard has agreed to it.

Making same sex marriage the law of the land means the end of mothers and fathers as distinctive influences in a child's life. If two mothers or two fathers are just as good as a father and a mother, then the entire concept of father and mother will be meaningless.

Once this thing is passed, anyone who prefers the traditional man-woman definition of marriage will be labeled as a homophobic hate monger who is no better than a racist. Same sex proponents are doing that already when they compare those who believe in one-man one-woman marriage to the racists of the 1950's.

So let's at least be honest; same sex marriage is not normal and not a good thing for society as a whole and it's high time that we stop pretending otherwise. All things being equal, a child being brought up by a mother and a father is the ideal and we need to uphold that as a society.

That's my opinion, and that is why I have no doubt that I will be getting carloads of hate mail after this column appears. I am sure of this because I am fully aware that I am living in an upside-down world that is speeding toward far-left social engineering. And it's been my experience that progressive Leftists are completely intolerant of anyone who disagrees with their world view.

But keep those cards and letters coming in, progressives. It helps put life in proper perspective for me. When you call for my head, that's when I know it must be screwed on right.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast