Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 6, 2012/ 11 Teves, 5772

New Thoughts for a New Year

By Greg Crosby



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's a brand new year which means it's the perfect time to introduce a few new thoughts. So clear your heads, open your minds, and put on your thinking caps.

Watching the New Year's Eve telecasts I came up with an idea for next year's New Year's broadcast. What if after the ball comes down and people begin kissing in the New Year, instead of playing "New York, New York," or "America the Beautiful'" the orchestra or band actually plays "Auld Lang Syne?" That certainly would be different than what's been done in the last few years. Don't get me wrong, I love those other songs very much, it's just that I don't associate an anthem to a city or a country with New Years. Playing "Auld Land Syne" would be infinitely more appropriate and definitely something new for today's generation of New Year's Eve revelers who don't realize that it's been a staple of New Years Eve for two or three hundred years.

Okay, here's another new thought. In today's non-judgmental anything goes society people make up their own minds as far as what they would like their sexual orientation to be, right? In other words it doesn't matter whether you were born a male or a female, you can act and look anyway you "feel most comfortable" and you can assume any sexual identity you wish and society is expected to accept that. So here's my question:

If it's fine and dandy to take on any sexual orientation that you like, why isn't it just as fine and dandy to take on any racial or ethnic orientation that you like? What if I wake up tomorrow and decide that I feel much more comfortable with a Samoan identity? Why shouldn't I be allowed to take on any identity that I feel most at home with and why shouldn't society at large have to accept my choice? After all, it's my choice if I want to call myself a Samoan or a Latvian or a Mayan or whatever I am so inclined to be, no matter what my "birth race" was.

We can change our nationalities, we can change our religions, we can change our facial features, and we can change our gender and our sexual orientation. Why can't we change our race? What right does society have to tell me I must live my life as a white guy? If you think this sounds ridiculous, it is. But remember, most of us thought same sex marriage was ridiculous just ten or so years ago, now it is being legislated in state after state. Any abnormality can start to sound normal if it is constantly drummed into people for a long enough period of time.

Here's something else to think about. Most of us eat at least three times a day; some of us even more…maybe a lot more. We know that what we put into our traps and swallow will affect how our bodies function. What we put into our bodies is extremely important for our health and wellbeing. So why do we trust the lowest paid, least educated workers on the planet to handle our food for us?

Shouldn't we have well educated nutritionists, scientists, and medical professionals trained in proper cleanliness and food preparation handling our basic life fuel? Why is it the least educated among us who is in charge of growing, harvesting, cleaning (or not) and preparing what we consume into our bodies? This is nothing new, by the way, it has always been this way. The people standing on the lowest rung of society's ladder, the ones who undoubtedly know the least about nutrition and food safety are the ones who handle what it is we eat. Think about it. If you think about it too much you may never eat again. Or wind up just growing your own.

And finally, since this is a presidential election year, how about this new thought: Let's get rid of that stupid old axiom that "it doesn't matter who you vote for or how you vote, as long as you get out there and vote." If there was ever a dumb idea, that one is it. Of course it matters who you vote for. Let's start a brand new axiom. Let's say if you don't know from nothing, then please, please do us all a favor, do NOT vote. Voters need to educate themselves on the issues and the candidates otherwise they have no business in the voting booth screwing things up for those of us who have done our homework. Got it? Have a nice year. :)

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Greg Crosby, former creative head for Walt Disney publications, has written thousands of comics, hundreds of children's books, dozens of essays, and a letter to his congressman. A freelance writer in Southern California, you may contact him by clicking here.

Greg Crosby Archives

© 2008, Greg Crosby

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles