Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 18, 2012/ 26 Iyar, 5772

Family Mysteries

By Linda Chavez



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Like many Americans, genealogy has been a keen interest of mine. I've had a good sense of where my family came from — Spain on my father's side and the British Isles on my mother's. But what I knew was only part of the story. And this Sunday, May 20th, what I subsequently learned will be aired on the PBS series "Finding Your Roots."

The series was conceived and is hosted by Harvard Professor Henry Louis Gates Jr. This season, the show has profiled a broad range of guests, from former secretary of state Condoleezza Rice to actor Robert Downey Jr. In addition to tapping some of the best genealogists in the U.S. and abroad, the show relies on DNA evidence from each guest, which helps identify their racial and ethnic heritage and where their ancestors lived over the last hundreds, even thousands, of years.

When I was first asked to participate, the producers asked me if there were any family mysteries I might like to solve. I came up with one, which seemed trivial and probably unsolvable, but I mentioned it anyway.

As a little girl, I remember my paternal grandmother's devotion to "El Niño de Atocha," which dates back to a legend about the Christ Child from the Middle Ages in Spain. She had a little plaster santo on her dresser, but the odd thing was that much of the time the statue was turned to the wall. I asked her why, but she would only say, "It's the custom." I assumed she was mad at Jesus for not answering her prayers.

When I arrived in New York for the taping of the show, I learned the explanation was likely a lot more complicated. For some time now, there has been conjecture that some of the earliest Spanish settlers to the New World, including part of the crew on Columbus' first voyage, were Jewish conversos. In 1492, all Spanish Jews were expelled from Spain by edict of the Catholic monarchs Ferdinand and Isabella, and all their property was confiscated. The edict took effect just one day before Columbus's ships set sail.

Jews had lived in Spain along with the Moslems, who controlled much of the peninsula for 700 years. The only alternative available to Jews who wished to stay was to accept baptism. But many of those who converted continued to practice Judaism secretly, and they became the chief targets of the infamous Spanish Inquisition. Among them were members of my family.

My 11th great grandmother Benita Orozco was born in Sevilla in the early 1500s. The Orozco name is on the list of those under investigation by the Inquisition. She died when my 10th great grandmother Guiomar was just a young child, but she left her daughter a huge dowry.

Yet Guiomar married the son of a candle maker in an era when it was rare to marry outside one's class. It's likely the family arranged the wedding to protect Guiomar from suspicion by the Inquisition because her husband Francisco Armijo came from an Old Catholic family.

In 1597, Francisco and Guiomar sailed for what is now Mexico, where the family lived until 1701 before coming to New Mexico. There over generations, the family intermarried with the Chavez family, whose progenitor had come on Juan de Oñate's expedition in 1598. I've subsequently learned that my Chavez family members were likely conversos too.

I wasn't surprised to learn that 75 percent of my DNA was European, nor that I have some Indian heritage — about 5 percent. What was surprising is that 20 percent of my DNA shows Semitic markers, even after my family's 400 years in New Mexico.

My grandmother's custom of turning her statue to the wall was probably handed down from her Jewish ancestors, who abhorred idol worship, but the reasons were eventually forgotten.

As part of the show, I travelled to Sevilla to view archival records and film the church where my converso ancestors were baptized and the plaza where other conversos were burned at the stake.

The experience not only gave me a sense of my roots, but made me appreciate what it means to be an American — a country founded on the principle of religious freedom.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


JWR contributor Linda Chavez is President of the Center for Equal Opportunity. Her latest book is "Betrayal: How Union Bosses Shake Down Their Members and Corrupt American Politics". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.)

Linda Chavez Archives


© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles