Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 3, 2009 / 9 Nissan 5769

Wordy

By Mona Charen


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My children have started to become exacting grammarians. David, 15, is driven nearly crazy every time someone misuses the expression "beg the question." It's a good thing he is away on a band trip this week and didn't catch a CNN report on the morning news. A story on the financial situation was phrased like this: "This begs the question: What happened to the TARP money?"


If David had been watching, he would have scowled at the screen and, voice raised, corrected the reporter. "It doesn't 'beg' the question. It presents or suggests or poses the question. To beg the question is to avoid or circumvent it!" David is mostly right. Beg the question is widely misused. Michael Quinion of World Wide Words (worldwidewords.org) responded to a reader who asked whether it was ever correct to use the meaning David disdains. His answer is comprehensive. "You can easily find examples of the sense you quote, which is used just as though one might say 'prompt the question' or 'forces one to ask' . This meaning of the phrase seems to have grown up because people have turned for a model to other phrases in beg, especially the well-known I beg to differ , where beg is a fossil verb that actually used to mean 'humbly submit'. But the way we use beg to differ these days makes beg the question look the same as 'wish to ask'. It doesn't — or at least, it didn't. ... The meaning you give is ... gaining ground, and one or two recent dictionaries claim that it is now acceptable — the New Oxford Dictionary of English , for example, says it is 'widely accepted in modern standard English'. I wouldn't go so far myself."


I'm delighted and a little surprised that my publicly educated boys are learning grammar at all. When I attended public school, grammar was completely out of style. I suppose the geniuses at Teachers College (whose views infect all of American education) thought it would stunt our creativity to learn how to diagram a sentence. In any case, most of my school cohorts didn't come across words like gerund or past participle until we studied a foreign language in eighth grade! My 11th grade English teacher, Mrs. Payne, was kind enough to spend several after-school hours teaching me the basics of grammar because I asked. But that was an extracurricular exception for an eccentric.


Ben, 13, was actually given an extra credit project in English: Find an example of incorrect grammar or usage in your daily life. He wanted to snap a photo of the checkout line at the supermarket that reads "15 items or less." It should be "fewer," of course. I suggested one that grates like fingernails on a blackboard every time I hear it. When you renew your prescriptions at our pharmacy, a recorded voice asks for the prescription number. After you enter it you hear: "The prescription you entered is associated with the name C-H-A-R. If this is the first four letters of your last name, press 1." AGGGGHH! I respond with only marginally less anguish when I hear "enormity" misused. Enormity is a fine word meaning (according to the American Heritage Dictionary) "The quality of passing all moral bounds; excessive wickedness . 2. A monstrous offense or evil ." It just happens to sound like "enormous." And so you will hear members of Congress, TV pundits and others use phrases like "the enormity of the crisis we face." No.


I don't want to discourage my kids' fastidiousness about language. But the truth is that language is always changing, and that sometimes the sheer weight and momentum of error crash through the ramparts of proper usage and the unacceptable is accepted. This openness has another side as well — receptiveness to all enhancements. English has taken liberally from dozens of other tongues. It has always been this way. The French, Italians, and Germans established learned societies to maintain the purity of their languages. The French to this day are subject to seizures when English words like "weekend" insinuate themselves into la belle langue. But English just keeps expanding. According to The Economist, the number of words in the English language will pass 1 million at the end of this month, far more than any other language.


By all means, let's celebrate the flexibility and versatility of English. But please, enormity doesn't refer to size.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR contributor Mona Charen's column by clicking here.

Mona Charen Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles