Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 31, 2014

First wife collects benefits on man's social security; screwed up his financial life

By Bruce Williams




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | DEAR BRUCE: My husband was married 10 years ago to his first wife. She is collecting disability benefits on his Social Security although she married after they were divorced. Will this affect me in any way as his present wife? -- F.K., via email

DEAR F.K.: The fact that your husband's first wife is collecting will in no way impair your ability to collect from Social Security. Assuming you meet the other criteria that are applied to the specific program, you are home free. In other words, even after 10 years divorced, you can collect, the first wife can collect, and possibly a third could collect, should that person meet the criteria that applies.

DEAR BRUCE: I am 49 years old, married, with four children. I would have had my house paid off, but the money I put away for college didn't grow, so I used a home equity loan and then refinanced at 3.1 percent for 15 years.

Because my house would have been paid off, half of my life insurance is expiring, and so I am shopping for life insurance. I am thinking $300,000 term life for me and $200,000 for my wife.

Our house is worth $230,000 (mortgage payment is $961), and the balance of the mortgage is $121,000. We have a car payment of $200 a month for three more years ($7,300 balance), and we owe $20,000 on no-interest credit cards (14 more months). The $20,000 was on a home equity line of credit, but I had it transferred to save interest and protect me in case rates go up. I also owe $7,000 on my home equity line.

We have $30,000 in accounts that I can pull money out of with one week's notice with no penalties. We also have $50,000 in Roth IRA accounts. We have $150,000 in our 401(k) and $354,000 in a lump-sum pension fund (my wife would get it in full if I die), which I can't touch now. Also, I have monthly pension benefits that are calculated at $1,485 a month, but the monthly payout will probably be close to $3,000 when I get to retirement age of 57.

I have been paying into Social Security since I was 17. I make $96,000 and my wife makes $25,000 with her own business, while being a super mom and wife to me on the side.

I am leaning toward term life, but am unsure of whether to go for 20 or 30 years, and I am unsure on the amount. Can you help me with these two factors? Right now I have $300,000 with $100,000 running out and $200,000 on my wife with $100,000 running out. -- K.K., via email

DEAR K.K.: I appreciate your lengthy letter, but cutting to the chase: With all the different expenses you have, it would seem to me that you would be better advised to kick up your $200,000 to $400,000 because you are the primary breadwinner. For your wife, who has less income, perhaps $125,000 in term insurance. Arguments can be made for a few dollars in one direction or another, but $400,000 on you and $125,000 on your wife, I think, would be adequate.

Whether you want to go 20 or 30 years is another question. I would consider the 30 years because that will take you into your 80s and you will clearly be more prone to natural death at that point.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment or ask a question, please click here.

(Questions of general interest will be answered in future columns. Owing to the volume of mail, personal replies cannot be provided.) Interested in buying or selling a house? Let Bruce Williams' "House Smart" be your guide. (Sales of the book help fund JWR).

© 2013, DIstributed by Universal Uclick for UFS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast