Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Stump Mr. Know-It-All

By Gary Lee Clothier




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: I was in a coffee shop and noticed a young lady wearing a sweatshirt with the name "Belmont University" on it. I asked if the university was located in New York. She said it's in Tennessee. She obviously did not want to talk a stranger, and I respected her decision. I looked up Belmont, Tennessee, in my road atlas, but there was no such place. I thought maybe the university was named after Belmont, New York. Can you tell me? -- N.K., Hartford, Connecticut

A: There is a Belmont, New York, but it has nothing to do with Belmont University. Belmont, New York, is located in the western part of the state, just north of the Pennsylvania state line. Fewer than 1,000 people call the town home.

Belmont University is located in Nashville, Tennessee. In 1849, a newly married couple began construction of the elaborate 36-room, 19,000-square-foot mansion; they named it Belle Mont. In 1889, the mansion became the home of Belmont Seminary for Women. In time, it became Belmont University. There are approximately 6,900 students who attend the school.

LET'S LEARN ENGLISH

In the U.K., they say "ice lollies"; in America, we eat "Popsicles."

U.K. drivers share the road with "articulated lorries," while in America, we say "tractor-trailer."

DID YOU KNOW? Anita Ekberg was considered for the role of Honey Ryder in the first James Bond film, "Dr. No" (1962), which went to Ursula Andress.

Q: The comic strip "Blondie" has been with us for many years. When I was a child, as today, they had a dog named Daisy. Daisy had five pups back in the 1940s; one, the only boy, was named Elmer. The strip continues running today with no mention of Elmer or the other pups. What happened to them? -- T.H.M., Shillington, Pennsylvania

A: Chic Young started the strip "Blondie" in 1930. After he died in 1973, his son, Dean Young, took over the strip. In 2005, during an online chat marking the strip's 75th birthday, Young was asked what happened to the pups; he had this to say: "I imagine they are somewhere in the neighborhood, but, in my tenure, I found that drawing five little puppies in each panel was more than I can bear."

DID YOU KNOW? Anthony Perkins was a huge fan of Elvis Presley, so much so that he named his second son Elvis Perkins.

Q: In the Western novel I'm reading, four businessmen go to a fine restaurant for dinner. When finished, they are asked about dessert. One fellow says he'll have anything except Indian pudding or vinegar cake. What are these two dessert items? -- J.B.C., Arcadia, California

A: Indian pudding is a New England Thanksgiving classic, but I have found it quite often on restaurant menus. I lived in New England for several years, and it became my favorite dessert before I finished my first spoonful. Indian pudding is baked custard with milk, butter, molasses, eggs, spices and cornmeal. Served hot, I think it should include a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Food historians say that when settlers arrived, they brought with them their passions for particular dishes, hasty pudding being one of them. Hasty pudding is a British dish of wheat flour cooked in boiling milk or water until it reaches the consistency of oatmeal. From that evolved Indian pudding.

Vinegar cake does not seem much different than other cake recipes, but it has the addition of vinegar. I'm told that vinegar is a surprisingly common ingredient in baked goods. The acid in the vinegar reacts with baking soda and starts the chemical reaction needed to produce carbon dioxide, giving the batter a lift as the cake bakes. No, you do not taste the vinegar.

CORRECTION: I said 100 to 120 baseballs were used in every baseball game and there were roughly 80 home games per season. Then I said that would be 800 balls used per season. Obviously, I failed elementary math, because it should be 8,000 to 9,600 balls used in a season.


Comment by clicking here.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Previously:


#113
#112
#111
#110
#109
#108
#107
#106
#105
#104
#103
#102
#101
#101
#101
#100
#99
#98
#97
#96
#95
#94
#93
#92
#91
#90
#89
#88
#87
#86
#85
#84
#83
#82
#81
#80
#79
#78
#77
#76
#75
#74
#73
#72
#71
#70
#69
#68
#67
#66
#65
#64
#63
#62
#61
#60
#59
#58
#57
#56
#55
#54
#53
#52
#51
#50
#49
#48
#47
#46
#45
#44
#43
#42
#41
#40
#39
#38
#37
#36
#35
#34
#33
#32
#31
#30
#29
#28
#27
#26
#25
#24
#23
#22
#21
#20
#19
#18
#17
#16
#15
#14
#13
#12
#11
#10
#9
#8
#7
#6
#5
#4
#3
#2
#1


© 2011, Gary Clothier DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast