Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

You can record songs from free Internet radio; opening/saving different folder in Gmail

By Steve Alexander






JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) QUESTION: My neighbor is able to record Internet radio stations, and I'm interested in recording a 1920s music station I've found. But the program he gave me won't work on my Dell PC. What should I do?

—Stanley Weidenhammer, Reading, Pa.

ANSWER: Without knowing what program you're using, I can't tell you what's wrong. However, I've used two free streaming radio recording programs that work pretty well: Screamer Radio (download it at tinyurl.com/mljznve) and Streamwriter (find it at tinyurl.com/lgra3x7). Both let you record stations from a preset list or from a website address you enter. In addition, Streamwriter lets you create a "wish list" so that the program will record a particular song the next time it's played on a station you've tuned in. You can read reviews of Screamer Radio, Streamwriter and similar programs at tinyurl.com/jwkjs9l.

A note of caution: After you download each program and click to install it, you'll get two or three screens offering additional software. Refuse these extras by clicking "decline" or "skip" at the bottom of each screen.



Q: I have followed your recommendations many times and downloaded some of the programs from the "tinyurl" addresses you listed. Is there any way for me to search on my own for the download locations for different programs or services, such as a PC registry cleaner?

—Robart Whiting, Miami

A: Yes. Go to Download.com, which hosts a variety of free and for-pay programs that have been scanned to eliminate malicious software. Click in the search box at the upper right, and from the drop-down menu choose the operating system you're using — Windows, Mac, iOS or Android. Then, in the search box, type what you're seeking, such as a registry cleaner, which removes unwanted data from the Windows database of settings.

Skip the software labeled "sponsored match" (a.k.a. paid advertising). The programs that follow are listed based on their popularity with staff reviewers or users.

Q: When I attempt to attach a document from My Documents to an outgoing email in my Gmail account, the list that opens is in a different folder that doesn't include all of my saved documents. Any suggestions?

—Ralph Kempf, Orono, Minn.

A: Gmail is opening this particular folder because you've previously stored documents there and attached them to outgoing email. It's easy to create documents and store them in the wrong folder.

Redirect Gmail to open the My Documents folder this way: When you try to attach a file to an email, a menu of files appears. Select the My Documents folder from the list on the left. (And, for simplicity, move all your documents to the My Documents folder.)

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



How to get around email blocking; iTunes backup to PC?
A lesson in backing up your iPad; more
Locked out of Facebook by email switch; Can't use the 'back button' on Internet Explorer 10
If YouTube videos halt, give this a try; 'The User Profile Service failed the logon. User profile cannot be loaded'
Don't let AOL hold your email hostage!; more
Prepare yourself for end of Windows XP updates next year; more
The right way to make print photos digital; YouTube upload problem
How to find a disappearing DVD drive
Forward an email but not the addresses; ALMOST scammed
Finding a PC that can sing and dance; more
Can you move your Office to a new PC?
Buying the latest gadget poses risk
How long will a backup drive keep working?; more
Social media and small business legal guide
A good drive can help transfer data between computers; more
Brokering a truce between McAfee, Malwarebytes; no need to subject yourself to Windows 8
Problem with my wireless PC mouse; Skype less of a threat than it seems
When pop-up ads go wild, it may be a virus
IPhone quirks can be costly for your contact list; more on alternatives to having a wired telephone line
Options for ditching your phone line
Why Wi-Fi is speedier than Internet
Watching TV via Internet, Wi-Fi and dish
Blocked eventhough not a spammer; Documents icon disappeared from Windows Vista PC Desktop; more
How to get info removed from Google
Which TV system for digital age?
The mystery of the disappearing email; reader didn't follow directions
Readers react to discount phone furor
Turning back your PC's clock from Windows 8 to Windows 7; de-hijacking your browser
T-Mobile customer was counting on discounted phone
Making files play nice with Media Player; Syncing online and local Outlook
Cellphone won't stream live sports anymore; Hotmail v. Outlook
Getting video calling to work on Facebook; Adobe Digital Editions e-reader
Wilderness Internet is costly, slow; Windows Vista Service Pack 2 problems
She can't send e-mail but still receives it; laptop loses wifi connection when asleep
Push to talk aboard ship; retrieve deleted text messages from an iPhone, when on and off
Using email to send iPad text messages; photo recovery program for camera card that has become corrupt
How to avoid getting more spam e-mail
How to solve PC problems from afar; import old e-mails into the Thunderbird e-mail program
Apple iPad ready to travel
How to add software to a diskless PC
Connecting a new PC to an older printer



© 2013,Star Tribune (Minneapolis) Distributed by MCT Information Services

Quantcast