Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 9, 2013/ 30 Kislev, 5774

The Real Reaction to Obamacare

By Bruce Bialosky




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As Queen Kathleen (Sebelius) has stated, the people who want her fired are "people I don't work for." This is indicative of an attitude exhibited by many in the Administration that the principal complaints concerning Obamacare are coming from people who did not want the law from its inception.

I want to share with you communications that were sent to me by a long-time friend and business associate. This first communication was directed to me and is titled "I owe you this."

If I had known how Obama care would turn out I would have voted for Romney.

Whatever the arguments were for Obama care, the brand is now more tainted than Anthony Weiner.

Let's hear about some of those "Market Oriented Solutions." There is no question that the 17% of our GDP that is being spent on healthcare represents a misallocation of resources. The burden of healthcare costs is crushing American competitiveness.

I will have to educate myself as to the definition of a "high crimes and misdemeanor"; does incompetence and mismanagement ever rise to that level? There were certainly a lot of lies being told; were laws broken?

If we need to have a caretaker president for 3 years I would much prefer Joe Biden.

That certainly is a strong statement from an Obama supporter. But he even gets stronger in a letter he sent to Organize for America. To remind you, Organizing for America is Obama's continuing campaign organization that has the purpose of extending his perpetual campaign through his second term. It is operated by key members of his presidential campaign.

This is what he sent to them:

I have been hearing abject disdain about the ACA (Affordable Care Act) and high levels of anxiety about individual's personal situations. The political ineptitude displayed in the design of the ACA and the incompetence shown in the roll out of this plan has been truly breathtaking to me.

Between my wife and me we contributed approx. $4,000 to the 2008 and 2012 campaign. It is not like I did not want the ACA to work, health care reform was the #1 most important issue to me in both of those elections by a long shot. I could not be more disappointed and disgusted at the gross negligence and utter ineptitude displayed in the implementation of the ACA at all levels of this administration. Is there any possible explanation for this fiasco other than a toxic combination of insularity, hubris, amateurish incompetence, and other negative management elements too numerous to mention?

This administration should be truly ashamed. They have driven a stake through the heart of healthcare reform, the Democratic Party, and progressive ideas in general by way of this fiasco. How many decades will need to elapse before the American public will trust the government with any large undertaking like Cap and Trade?

Granted I am only 61 years old, but in a lifetime of following politics I cannot recall a more far reaching and preventable fiasco of this magnitude. Good luck trying to get this horse back into the raging flames of this burning barn.

Over the past five years while I was having conversations with this gentleman, we had many lively discussions about health care reform. I would express to him that Democrats have for many years in California (and probably in other states) stifled any free market reforms to health insurance out of a desire to head toward government-operated health care. At the same time they stuffed requirement after requirement into insurance plans making them more expensive and less affordable.



They also created a big lie; Republicans don't have an alternative to Obamacare. Rep Tom Price (R-GA), who is a medical doctor by training and experience, has presented HR 2300 which is a comprehensive market-based health care plan for America in the past three Congresses. The Republicans do have a plan -- it just is not government run with extensive, coercive penalties.

Despite that, he kept on telling me the Republicans had to come up with a plan. I talked about expansion of health saving accounts, portability, lawsuit restrictions and nationalizing the health care market, much like the auto and homeowner's insurance markets are operated to introduce greater competition. I told him to go to Congressman Price's website to see a more comprehensive plan of market-oriented reforms that do not include penalty after penalty for taxpayers.

That all fell away the day Obamacare went into effect. No more promises of freebies and cost savings; reality set in.

For those of you who doubt what is above -- it is unequivocally real and he stated I could use his statements. That is how strong his feelings of betrayal are from the Obama Administration about a burning issue to him. I am quite confident that there are hundreds of thousands out there, if not millions, who feel the same way. It is not just us non-believers.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Bruce Bialosky is the founder of the Republican Jewish Coalition of California and a former Presidential appointee.


Previously:


12/09/13 How to Secure a Proper Iranian Agreement
12/03/13 Frontline/ProPublica's Misguided Attack on The Assisted Living Industry, Part 2
12/02/13 Frontline/ProPublica's Misguided Attack on The Assisted Living Industry, Part 1
11/25/13 Obamacare --- Big Business Gets Screwed Again
11/18/13 Shocking News: Dems Want New 'Revenues'
11/11/13 Do You Want A Nationalized Drug Industry?
11/04/13 Obamacare Schadenfreude
10/28/13 The Second Biggest Issue in America
10/21/13 The New Welfare State





© 2013, Bruce Bialosky

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast