Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 11, 2012 / 27 Kislev 5773

Surviving the 'cliff'

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "I'm not sure I have the energy to keep up."

"Ah, yes, you speak of the latest self-created crisis in our government, what some refer to as the 'fiscal cliff.' If Congress and the president don't agree to new terms on spending and taxes, the Budget Control Act of 2011 will automatically go into effect."

"And then the sky will fall?"

"It won't be pretty. A number of tax breaks, such as the Bush tax cuts from 10 years ago, will end and automatic cuts will kick in across 1,000 government programs - in particular, the defense budget and Medicare."

"But isn't this latest crisis a drop in the bucket when you compare it to the real spending and deficit crisis just down the road?"

"That is unfortunately correct. Even if President Obama were successful in letting the Bush tax cuts lapse for Americans making more than $250,000 a year, it would generate only about $100 billion a year in additional revenue - about one-tenth of our current budget deficit."

"We've had $1 trillion deficits for four years now, with no signs of improvement."

"That is unfortunately correct, too. The only way to get ourselves out of this mess is to get spending in order, relative to revenue. We need to reform our tax system. We need to do all we can to unleash private-sector wealth creation - because without it, we are headed for some very horrible times."

"Which is why I don't think I have the energy to keep up with it all. Trying to stay informed is time-consuming. It is disheartening to be outmuscled by so many voters who are not informed - voters who voted for more spending, to heck with our financial mess."

"Look, neither side is happy when it loses at the polls, but you must never give up."

"Fair enough, but you agree that it is getting harder to keep up with all we must know to be informed voters."

"That is a fair point. Our country has grown ever more litigious; our government, incredibly big and complex. Giant bills are voted on in Congress when most of our elected representatives have no idea what is in them."

"I thought they had to 'vote on them to find out what was in them.'"

"Sad, I know, but it gets worse. There are more than 50 regulatory agencies in the federal government. The regulators create rules based on their interpretation of the complex laws passed by Congress and signed by the president. The EPA is having a field day within the Obama administration."

"You are saying that people we do NOT vote for are the ones who write and enforce the actual rules that we all must abide by?"

"That is correct. The regulators have the power to fine us or even throw us in jail."

"Oh, brother. Look, I hope you can understand why I am so low on energy these days. The government is somewhat out of control. Debt, spending and regulations are inhibiting growth, yet the people who understand and worry about these things are outnumbered by people who couldn't care less. Didn't the exit polls show that the debt and deficit were third on the list of voter concerns?"

"Which is why you have to speak up and engage even harder. We need to press the debate on the issues that matter. We need to make our legislators address them now. That is how a republic works."

"I know you are right, but still, I am low on energy. I tire of the partisan nonsense surrounding the self-created fiscal cliff. I need to turn off all the yappers on cable television and the Internet for a little while. I need to take a long nap."

"How long?"

"Can you send someone over to wake me up in January?"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR Contributor Tom Purcell, author of 'Misadventures of a 1970's Childhood,' is a nationally syndicated columnist. Comment by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2012, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles