Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 11, 2012/ 27 Kislev, 5773

The greats advise Obama --- but will he listen?

By Jack Kelly




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Most of us learn -- eventually -- from experience. That's the hard way. We'd avoid a lot of pain if we learned more from the experience of others.

To learn from the experience of others is the reason why we study history. But history isn't taught much any more in our public schools, or in our colleges and universities. It shows.

History doesn't ever repeat itself, exactly. But as Mark Twain noted, it rhymes. History rhymes because people the world over are more like than unlike each other, and because people haven't changed all that much over the millennia. We have the same virtues and the same vices as the ancient Greeks and Romans. The same passions motivate us. So we make essentially the same mistakes, over and over again.

In an earlier column, I mentioned my favorite poem, "The Gods of the Copybook Headings," by my favorite poet, Rudyard Kipling. To those who don't study history, it must seem eerie how, writing in 1919, Kipling captured the essence of the Obama administration.

British schoolchildren in Kipling's day practiced penmanship in copybooks. The pages were blank, except for a maxim or proverb at the top, such as "honesty is the best policy," or "a penny saved is a penny earned," written in perfect handwriting, which students were expected to copy over and over, down the page. These were the copybook headings.

"We were living in trees when they met us," Kipling said of the Gods of the Copybook Headings. "They showed us each in turn that water would certainly wet us, as fire would certainly burn: But we found them lacking in Uplift, Vision and Breadth of Mind, so we left them to teach the gorillas while we followed the March of Mankind."

"All is not gold that glitters, and two and two make four," the Gods of the Copybook Headings tell us. But as in ages past, people would rather believe in a "brave new world" in which "all men are paid for existing, and no man must pay for his sins." So we'll follow, for a time, the "smooth-tongued wizards" who promise wealth without work, safety without vigilance, sex without consequences.

The trail President Obama thinks he's blazing is in fact well worn. Many have trod it before, to their sorrow. It is new and "progressive" only to those who pay no attention to the lessons history teaches.

The president's economic policies have produced high unemployment, skyrocketing debt, stagnation and recession. Kipling wouldn't have been surprised:

"In the Carboniferous Epoch we were promised abundance for all, by robbing selected Peter to pay for collective Paul; but though we had plenty of money, there was nothing our money could buy, and the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: 'If you don't work you die.'"

Nor would he be astonished to learn more violence has followed Mr. Obama's "peace" initiatives in the Middle East: "When the Cambrian measures were forming, They promised perpetual peace. They swore, if we gave them our weapons, that the wars of the tribes would cease. But when we disarmed they sold us and delivered us bound to our foe, and the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: 'Stick to the Devil you know.'"

Or that the chief consequence of sexual liberation has been an enormous increase in the number of single parent families headed by women who live in poverty:

"On the first Feminian Sandstones we were promised the Fuller Life (which started by loving our neighbor and ended by loving his wife). Till our women had no more children and the men lost reason and faith, and the Gods of the Copybook Headings said: 'The Wages of Sin is Death.'"

"Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it," said the great British statesman Edmund Burke (1729-1797). He warned of the chaos that would descend upon France when revolutionaries there thought they could alter human nature by fiat. They couldn't. Neither could all the others who've tried before us. Neither can we.

Americans of this generation have been unwilling to heed the experience of others, so we're about to learn bitter lessons from our own experience. Periodically, people try to dismiss them. But always, "the Gods of the Copybook Headings, with terror and slaughter return."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2011, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles