Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 20, 2012/ 6 Teves, 5773

Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) I never "got" rap. It just seemed like a musical version of the Emperor's new Clothes, where everyone around you is saying "wow, how outrageously innovative!" and all you hear is the sound a car makes when it's dying. To me, this is not art.

Someone once suggested to me that this aversion to the genre was an innocent form of racism, the kind where an otherwise well-meaning white person fails to appreciate the nuance of Black Culture. My answer to that was along the lines of "I don't believe Black Culture is all about baby mamas, drive-by shootings and getting high." And just to set the record straight, I think the greatest gift to music, hands down, is The Sound of Philadelphia, with Motown coming in a very close second.

Apparently, I am in the minority when it comes to rap and its first cousin, hip hop. Jay Z is a multi-millionaire. Kanye West is still relevant (and I ask, why?). Tupac Shakur is revered as a martyred prophet of the street. And a whole list of women who are not going to make Aretha sweat her legacy have somehow become pop icons.

Philadelphia has always been at the center of the pop music universe. So it comes as no surprise that a Philadelphian is making his mark on the national scene. Robert Williams a/k/a Meek Mill is a rising star, the darling of Atlantic records honcho Julie Greenwald and a frequent presence at high profile concerts and on the airwaves.

But the notable rapper has a notable rap sheet. In 2008, Mill was convicted of drug dealing and gun possession, crimes which surely provided a fertile source for his rap masterpieces. He was paroled after spending six months in jail and has been on probation since 2009.

As anyone who has familiarity with the criminal justice system knows, a common condition of probatino is geographical restriction and reporting requirements. Many on probation are not allowed to travel outside of a certain area without getting prior permission from the sentencing court. It doesn't matter if you're a nobody from Delco hoping to attend his mother's funeral in New York or an up and coming rapper from North Philly looking to headline a concert in the Virgin Islands.

Justice, as they say, has cataracts.

Meek Mill got that message last week when a Common Pleas judge rejected his plea to attend several gigs outside of the Philadelphia area in the upcoming month. The Honorable Genece Brinkley denied the rapper permission to share his musical talent with concergoers in the Virgin Islands until his probation officially ends next month. I know Judge Brinkley personally, and wasn't at all surprised by her ruling. This woman exemplifies the best qualities of a jurist: intelligence, common sense, a hightened sense of fairness and a dash of good old humor. In ruling against Mill, her honor made the following observation:

"You just can't thumb your nose at me, and they can't thumb their nose at me and think it's OK." She was referring to the defendant's failure to show up for a drug test, his spotty contacts with his parole officer and the fact that he and his handlers had scheduled the island concert despite a prior warning from the bench not to do so.

The judicial slap down must have come as a surprise to a young man who seems used to getting his way. He and his attorney seemed to argue that the laws don't apply to the talented and famous as they do to Joe "ID NO: 12345" Shmoe. Mill even had the chutzpah to try and persuade the judge with what I like to call the Jean Valjean Defense: "Hey, I'm only trying to feed my family!"

That's pretty much what the rapper said when pleading his case: "My best way of staying out of jail is staying out of the streets. I got bills. I take care of my family ... I just want to work and do my job."

Imagine that. The only way this fellow thinks he can stay out of jail is by staying off the streets. It's as if he's saying that if we don't let him sing for his supper-literally-he's just going to have to make a living some other way. While most of us would send out a resume or check out the classifieds, this guy is implying that he'll resort to the same activity that put him in jail in 2008.

Mill isn't unique in his arrogant sense of entitlement. Rappers go through a revolving door at the jailhouse. Football players get nailed for shooting themselves in the foot (if not shooting off at the mouth.) And Lindsay Lohan is the poster child for "wasted" space.

But Mill is a homeboy. That's why Judge Brinkley's ruling is a welcome ray of sunshine. It teaches us that not every notable gets preferential treatment in the courtroom, and not every judge has stars in her eyes.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2012, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast