Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 20, 2012/ 6 Teves, 5773

The 10 worst movies of 2012

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) Are you giddy yet?

The New York and Los Angeles film critics have spoken.

The Screen Actors Guild has spoken.

The Broadcast Film Critics Association has spoken.

The American Film Institute has spoken.

And, of course, the silly Golden Globes people have spoken.

Yes, movie awards season is in full swing.

Between now and Jan. 10, when the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announces its Oscar nominees, you will be subjected to endless speculation from legitimate film critics and blogging hacks alike as to which film is the front runner for the best picture Oscar.

Is it "Lincoln?"

Is it "Zero Dark Thirty?"

Is it "Argo?"

Is it "Les MisÚrables?"

Is it "Silver Linings Playbook?"

Is it "Amour?"

Is it "Life of Pi?"

Is it "Django Unchained?"

Is it "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel?"

Trust me, the front runner will change more times than you can count because Oscar prognosticating has become a cottage industry in Hollywood, and too many journalists and pseudo-journalists justify their existence by trying to convince you that they have inside information on the Oscars race.

If you're not betting real money on the outcome, what's the difference? You'll know everything on Jan. 10 anyway.

In the meantime, a lot of truly horrible movies will get lost in the Oscar hype.

Too much time and effort is spent at the end of the year saluting the movie winners. What about the movie losers? They need to be identified because they wasted our precious time and money. They need to be singled out so that we can recognize them the next time they come around in a different form.

Great movies are worth the time and expense. Bad movies aren't worth the price of popcorn.

Here are the worst movies of 2012, or at least the worst movies I saw in 2012, and I saw a lot of them. This may be the last time you hear these titles mentioned in polite company. You certainly won't hear them announced on Jan. 10.

1. "Battleship" — This was a particularly bad year for up-and-comer Taylor Kitsch, who parlayed a sexy turn as a football player on TV's "Friday Night Lights" into two coveted spots on this dubious list of turkeys (he also starred in No. 4). I don't know how you felt about Oliver Stone's "Savages," but Taylor starred in that one as well. He almost got the hat trick.

2. "What to Expect When You're Expecting" — Based on a best-selling pregnancy guidebook. Let me repeat that; it was based on a best-selling pregnancy guidebook. That is not exactly the greatest source material for a movie. And, sure enough, it was about as much fun to experience as labor pains.

3. "That's My Boy" — This is the obligatory Adam Sandler submission for worst movie of the year honors. He dragged Andy Samberg down with him on this one, although the Sandler look-alike went down willingly. Compared to this film, "Billy Madison" looks like "Casablanca."

4. "John Carter" — Disney had high hopes for what they expected to be the start of a lucrative franchise. Made for $250 million, directed by Pixar genius Andrew Stanton and based on a story by "Tarzan" creator Edgar Rice Burroughs, how could it miss? It missed.

5. "Mirror Mirror" — Julia Roberts was perfectly cast as the evil queen, but the best part of this movie was Snow White, played by singer Phil Collins' beautiful daughter Lily. This was the first of two bad Snow White movies in 2012. Kristen Stewart starred in the other, "Snow White and the Huntsman."

6. "Wrath of the Titans" — Liam Neeson, what were you thinking? Ralph Fiennes, what were you thinking? Sam Worthington, what were you thinking? Perhaps, you guys were thinking of a fat paycheck?

7. "The Three Stooges" — Peter and Bobby Farrelly should be ashamed. Several old guys came up to me and said they didn't think it was as bad as people were saying. Hey, there's a testimonial worth putting in a movie ad. "It's not as bad as people are saying."

8. "Dredd 3D" — It was a dreadful comic-book movie in 1995. It was even more dreadful in 2012 because they made it in 3-D and charged an extra fee for the privilege. The futuristic plot features a reality-altering drug called "Slo-Mo." That's how it felt while I was watching it — like my life was passing by in slow motion.

9. "Cloud Atlas" — Three directors, two-thirds of whom made "The Matrix," couldn't make sense of this wandering story that featured Tom Hanks and Halle Berry each playing six characters. It was not six times more entertaining.

10. "The Dictator" — We keep hoping for a repeat of the "Borat" magic, but we keep getting repeats of the "Bruno" nightmare. For some reason, audiences weren't interested in terrorist gags.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

2012's most annoying celebrities
Lindsay Lohan needs to be ignored
Red Dawn' remake reflects China's box-office pull
Fall movie season ends with lessons learned
The 10 best Bond villains ever
Readers weigh in on confusing movies
10 most confusing movies of all time
Do you enjoy going out to the movies?
Sylvester Stallone, the Dalai Lama and me
Watch August movies at your own risk
Nothing new in the new Spider-Man movie
Grading the summer movies . . . so far
Readers are angry about TV network practices, too
TV networks have some explaining to do
The night Johnny Depp made me a star
Summer movies: the dark horses
Lindsay, Ashton, Kim --- are they kidding?
Readers pick their favorite baseball movies
Our 10 favorite baseball movies
The most over-hyped movies of 2012
The 10 worst best pictures ever
The greatest Oscar acceptance speech NEVER given
The worst biopics ... ever
20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012
The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles