Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 16, 2012/ 4 Teves 5773

What place is safe anymore?

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | We've become far too used to that sentence. It usually means something horrible has happened. We heard it when O.J. Simpson was being chased by police cars. We heard it when planes flew into the World Trade Center.

We heard it Friday, when a 20-year-old gunman walked into a Connecticut elementary school and began firing, doing something unimaginable: killing innocent children, possibly all first-graders.

When stories like these happen, they are marked not just by tears, fury, finger-pointing and hand-wringing, but something else: a noticeable shift in national attitude. And while it is still too early to fully measure the impact of the Sandy Hook tragedy, you know, in your heart, something here has changed for good. We were already a nation that over-worried about its children's safety. Now, no elementary school will be considered off-limits. No age group too young. No location too innocent.

What place is safe anymore?

What Adam Lanza did with his demented soul and his loaded guns was bump American fear that much closer to the red zone. The calls for school security will now - and for the foreseeable future - be elevated. The scrutiny over who gets into school buildings will forever be heightened.

And the sense that certain places are always safe - that even that most evil wouldn't dare come here - is forever shattered.

Turn on the news.

The images of agony

No, it was not the first school shooting. Not even the deadliest in this country. The Virginia Tech tragedy took more lives. And here in Michigan, there was a worse massacre of students, when a farmer named Andrew Kehoe blew up the school in Bath Township, near Lansing. He killed 44 people, wounded 58, and then, like Lanza and so many cowards before him, killed himself.

That happened 85 years ago. So we can't say senseless violence is new. But in the age of the Internet and 24-hour TV news, where images are instant and nonstop, it was the faces of frightened children and gasping adults that will stay with us for a long time.

That and the ages. These kids were 6? Seven? It is horrible enough to hear college students recalling a massacre. Or teenagers detailing murder at a movie theater. But the young, squealing voices of the Sandy Hook Elementary children describing the terror they felt was almost… surreal. You wanted it to stop. You couldn't bear to hear such innocent faces talking about gunshots and fear and teachers making them close their eyes and hold onto one another as they ran out.

That type of horror you expect to lament in a war. When it happens at 9:30 a.m. in an upscale Connecticut grade school, there are no words.

But there is a reaction.

And it doesn't go away.

With a hug and a prayer

The morning of the shooting, I was traveling through an airport. In the security line, I got stuck behind a mother who was placing at least 10 items on the metal detector belt: bag, child's bag, coat, child's coat, stroller. As I stood there, tapping my foot, I thought back to how Osama bin Laden created all this. Little such security existed before al-Qaida's diabolical Sept. 11, 2001, attack, and little has dissipated since.

There has not been a repeat act on our shores. Yet we still go through this preventative drill, flight after flight - 11 years later.

What similar changes are likely in the wake of this latest tragedy? Will armed guards be the norm at elementary schools? Will parents decide where to enroll their children based on the level of gun-wielding security?

Surely the debate will rage over whether more guns or fewer guns would have made a difference here. And a small minority will point out that when something like this happened in a grade school 16 years ago in Dunblane, Scotland, the entire United Kingdom banned handguns.

Expect no repeat here.

But something will give. In a nation that can't agree on much, we all hold hands over the preciousness of childhood innocence. Every parent squeezed his or her child a bit tighter Friday night, and every one will worry a bit more when the school bell rings Monday morning.

Turn on the news. What place is safe anymore? When that becomes the national question, something's gotta give.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2012, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles