Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 19, 2011 / 23 Kislev, 5772

Thank U.S. troops, notably wounded warriors

By Star Parker




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I am from a military family -- my father was career Air Force -- and many in my immediate and extended family have been or continue in military service.

So perhaps I carry heightened sensitivities to the unique realities and challenges of military life.

With the U.S. military's withdrawal from Iraq, our troops -- and the importance of nationally acknowledging their service and sacrifice -- were already on my mind when I arrived for a meeting in the office of Rep. Allen West, R-Fla.

There, by chance, I met a woman I'll call Lt. Col. Sam.

Sam is in her 24th year of active duty in the U.S. Army. She served in Desert Storm and returned to Iraq in 2008.

Now she is in the Warrior Care and Transition Program, set up by the Army to provide a framework for quality care and transition for the growing numbers of returning wounded veterans.

One aspect of the program is work, and Sam chose to do staff work for West. It's a logical fit in that West himself is a retired Army lieutenant colonel and combat veteran. Beyond this, Sam's interest is in West's position on the House Armed Services Committee.

Her passion "to serve this country" burns as strongly today as it did 24 years ago. She says she would return to the field of battle "in a heartbeat."

It is heartening to encounter patriots such as Sam, with her indomitable spirit.

But every veteran -- no matter how focused and tough he or she appears -- needs acknowledgement and thanks.

And they need meaning. Particularly at times like this

It has got to add to the struggle for those who return from the battlefield -- whether those blessed to return physically and emotionally intact or the 31,927 wounded -- or the survivors of the 4,487 killed to be surrounded by a culture of doubt and naysayers.

Flying from Washington back to my home in California, I saw many men and women in uniform traveling.

I was struck by the number I noticed reading George W. Bush's book, "Decision Points."

Perhaps these warriors are searching for meaning and context for the battles they have been fighting.

My answer to the question of "was it worth it?" is this.

The downside of freedom is making inevitable mistakes -- sometimes big ones. The upside is scaling the heights and achieving what could never be achieved without it.

But the ideal of human freedom and the pursuit of human potential and the struggle toward this goal are never in doubt. This is what our country is so uniquely about and this is the banner that our brave warriors carry.

We cannot forget about those purple (ink-stained) fingers held proudly and highly by Iraqis who never before voted in a free and fair election. The self-evident truths enshrined in our Declaration of Independence are as self-evidently true for them as they are for us.

Herman Wouk, whose many novels include several about World War II, wrote: "Heroes are not supermen; they are good men who embody -- by the cast of destiny -- the virtue of their whole people in a great hour."

Each and every one of our returning warriors embodies the virtue of our whole people.

That virtue -- readily observable in Lt. Col. Sam and in those who choose to put on our country's uniform and fight for it -- is the conviction that the struggle for human freedom must move forward without cessation. It is the thread that bonds us with them.

We cannot lose perspective that the main arena where Americans must fight this battle is within our own country and borders. But just as the rights we claim and enjoy are universal, so are our responsibilities.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Star Parker is an author and president of CURE, Center for Urban Renewal and Education.



Previously:


12/12/11: Land of the envious and home of the victim
12/05/11: Payroll tax ‘cut’ is another welfare scam
11/28/11: Pray every day that America does not lose its way
11/21/11: We're ignoring the Constitution
11/14/11: The central issue of our time will define the 2012 presidential election
11/07/11: Separation of . . . morality and economy?
10/31/11: Every American should listen to Paul Ryan
10/24/11: Disrespect for life and disrespect for property go hand in hand
10/17/11:The right argument for Cain
10/10/11: Occupy Wall Street: More from the culture of narcissism
10/03/11: Why so many blacks continue to fail
09/26/11: So many GOP debates, so few candidate revelations
09/19/11: The the last vestige of the triumph of hope over experience is throwing itself a party. They'll be passing out palms-up portions of pity, but few solutions
09/12/11: I'll defend Perry on Social Security Ponzi scheme
09/05/11: Marco Rubio's Courageous speech
08/28/11: The Steve Jobs/Martin Luther King Jr. Connection
08/19/11: Blacks' dilemma with Obama





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles