Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec 16, 2011 / 20 Kislev, 5772

The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If you look up the word "annoy" in the dictionary, you will find: "to bother or irritate; to behave in an annoying manner."

There is no truth to the rumor that Kim Kardashian's photo is included with the definition - at least not in my dictionary.

The Kardashian meal ticket is a regular feature on my annual "Most Annoying Celebrities" list, and I won't keep you in suspense. She's right up at the top again. It's silly to turn this list into a dramatic countdown, where No. 1 remains a mystery until you look through the entire list. Kim Kardashian would have been the odds-on favorite to top this list even if her marriage had not ended after 72 days. The extravagant, televised wedding was annoying enough to crown the most famous of the Kardashian sisters as the most annoying celebrity of 2011.

Even the readers of Parade magazine put her at the top of its online poll a few months ago. This is one exceptionally annoying celebrity.

But she's not alone. In fact, you may be surprised to find a few of her relatives on this list, although I can assure you that Rob Kardashian is not among them. Even I have to admit that Kim's little brother has become a likable celebrity as a result of his turn on the TV show "Dancing With the Stars." I thought it was impossible to like anyone in this family until Rob came along.

Anyway, here is my list of the 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011.

1. Kim Kardashian - Based on responses to previous "most annoying" lists, I feel obligated to acknowledge that Kim is a very successful businesswoman. I'm not knocking her success. I know that young girls line up breathlessly to see her, and to buy any product associated with her. But that doesn't make her any less annoying. She remains the most popular untalented person in show business.

2. Charlie Sheen - Poor Charlie. Coming from a show business family, he thought he understood show business tradition enough to know that in any public battle between pretty-boy stars and greedy producers, the pretty-boys always win. Winning. But Charlie underestimated Chuck Lorre's worth to the network (he should have checked "The Big Bang Theory's" ratings), and the actor was out, and Lorre, the creator of "Two and a Half Men," was in. Charlie tested our patience with his mindless videos.

3. Ashton Kutcher - This has nothing to do with cheating on Demi and his subsequent divorce. This has to do with him. I have finally reached the conclusion that any project is diminished by his participation in it.

4. Lindsay Lohan - What can I say about Lindsay that hasn't already been said in a probation report? Serving jail time doesn't get you admittance to a most annoying list, but trying the public's patience with endless trips to jail is an invitation to such a list. Lindsay, we're tired of your perp walk.

5. Piers Morgan - He replaced annoying-list favorite Simon Cowell because a) He's more annoying than Simon Cowell and b) Nobody cares about Simon Cowell anymore.

6. Kris Jenner - Whatever annoys you about any Kardashian is her fault.

7. Nicole "Snooki" Polizzi - I was in a bookstore last weekend, and I was at a loss to explain to my niece what is so wrong with our society that someone like Snooki has two best-selling books on the shelves.

8. Mike "The Situation" Sorrentino - Another member of the "Jersey Shore" cast. In case you didn't watch every episode this past year, the "Jersey Shore" cast members spent some time in Italy, which of course turned out to be an embarrassment to our country. The episodes were painful to watch, except for the one in which The Situation got his clock cleaned by a wall. Seriously, he's such a lunatic that when he gets angry, he throws himself into walls, and he said later that he didn't realize how sturdy the walls were in Italy. Who would question this choice for most annoying?

9. Donald Trump - Did he open his mouth in 2011? Then I'm sure he said something that was annoying. What is most annoying about Trump is that he honestly believes that he is beloved.

10. Brett Ratner - Although an annoying guy long before he was asked to produce the Oscars telecast, Ratner proved that the Academy board really is clueless. The movie producer shocked almost no one when he uttered a gay slur in a public forum, and quickly resigned his position. He was followed closely by his friend and fellow annoying celebrity, Eddie Murphy, who had agreed to host the Oscars. He wanted to work again with Ratner (they worked together on the flop "Tower Heist"), but then reverted to classic Eddie Murphy by walking out on his commitment.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles