Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 9, 2010 / 2 Teves, 5771

Websites can have bar mitzvahs? You gotta be kidding!

By Binyamin L. Jolkovsky




What technology -- and one guy from Brooklyn -- has wrought

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Can a website have a "bar mitzvah"?

As silly as the question may seem at first blush, I have been giving the notion considerable thought because JewishWorldReview.com celebrates its 13th birthday -- its bar mitzvah -- tomorrow, December 10.

These days a bar mitzvah can sometimes conjure up images of a grand shindig in which one Jewish family tries to one-up others with extravagance. There are themes, DJs, waiters, four and five course gourmet meals and even champagne. The milestone has become a day that, intentionally or not, glorifies materialism. Spirituality has become the pretext for the celebration rather than its raison detre.

In actuality, a bar mitzvah is about commitment and responsibility --- to one's heritage, to one's people and to the world. The transitioning from child to budding adult is about others as much as oneself.

For JWR, it's no different.

It has long been customary for the bar mitzvah boy (and, more recently, for the bat mitzvah girl) to give a pshetel, a brief talk in which he offers thought provoking comments. These talks often mention the bar mitzvah boy's past, and his hopes for the future.


JWR's bar mitzvah belongs to you as well as to me. This isn't my celebration --- it's ours

Thirteen years ago I started JWR without seed money, venture capital or investors.

I'll be frank. It took hard work -- far more than I ever imagined -- to turn my idea for site that would benefit you and hundreds of thousands of other regular readers into reality.

JWR is now one of the largest and most read Websites in the world.

Yet JWR is also a site that readers feel a part of and care about deeply, and for that I am eternally grateful.

All my hard work (believe it or not, JWR is still just me) would mean nothing without you.

In fact, in many ways, maybe even most ways, you are as responsible for making JWR a success as I am. Your readership, your input and your support made JWR what it is today --- one of the most read and most visited websites in the world.

JWR's bar mitzvah belongs to you as well as to me. This isn't my celebration --- it's ours.

Just like most bar mitzvah boys, JWR doesn't look much different today than it did a year or two ago.

But soon you'll see changes. JWR will have new, modern, "grownup" look, and other changes will make your daily reading experience more enjoyable and even more personal. You'll be able to comment on articles and, in some cases, interact with authors.

But JWR's heart and soul, its neshama, will stay the same. It will be there for you, as comfortable, intelligent and entertaining as it always has been.

So, happy birthday and mazel tov!

Today JWR is one of the largest and most influential sites on the entire Internet --- your site, your influence and a member of your family, because you opened your "door" and let JWR in. Together we have made a difference and, with the help of God (and you), we will continue to.

JWR provided the first national home for numerous columnists, among them, Dennis Prager and Michelle Malkin. And JWR also provides a platform for long established columnists from the Left, Right, Center, including Nat Hentoff, Ed Koch, and Thomas Sowell. I promise you that l will continue to seek out the best new talent available.

But I also promise you that JWR will continue to be yours.

May we all have at least 13 more years together, and may our "child" JWR continue grow and continue to make us all proud.

If you want, you can donate to help keep JWR up and running.

You might not realize it, but your donations really do keep JWR going, and whatever you give will be greatly appreciated.

If you give $36 or more, I'll send you this special, personalized JWR bar mitzvah yarmulke (pictured above) made from the highest quality suede as my personal thank you.

It's a great conversation starter, it shows your love for the Jewish people (whether you are Jewish or not). Wear JWR's bar mitzvah yarmulke the next time you go to a synagogue or to a Jewish function. More importantly, it's a reminder of what we all have achieved together. (It's even a great gift idea.)

(If you give less than that, or even nothing at all, please know that I appreciate you and value you, and this celebration is no less yours because of it.)

Again, thank all of you for reading and for your support. Mazel tov!

[The yarmulkes are still being printed, and may look slightly different from picture above.]

Here's how to donate:

You can make a tax deductible charitable contribution through our secure online form.

Those wishing to donate via conventional mail, may do so by sending a check made out to to:

Keren Yehoshua V'Yisroel
125 Carey Street
Lakewood, NJ 08701

Tax ID: 22-3209160

Note on your check your donation is for the "Internet Educational Project."

Some readers suggested that we create a system where a monthly donation — even as little as $1 — could be automatically deducted from a credit card or checking account. To do so, please click here.

In SINCERE gratitude and friendship,

Binyamin L. Jolkovsky
Editor in Chief


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.