Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 17, 2010 10 Teves, 5771

Obama Now Vulnerable to Libs in 2012

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There is now so much room to the left of Barack Obama, it is becoming increasingly possible that some Democrat will challenge him in 2012.

Whether it's anger from what the White House dismisses as "the professional left" or anger from the amateur left, there is a lot of anger out there.

It is directed against President Obama for first giving up on the public option in his health care reform plan and now rewarding the wealthy with tax breaks.

Those who say they currently have no interest in running against Obama — Russ Feingold and Howard Dean to name two — could change their minds if polls show Obama losing to Republican challengers. (A Quinnipiac Poll last month showed Mitt Romney edging Obama by a single percentage point in a hypothetical 2012 race.)

The excuse for a Democrat running against a sitting Democratic president in the primaries goes like this: "If President Obama can't beat the likely Republican nominee, the Democratic Party has a duty to nominate someone who can."

And while much can be unlikely in politics, nothing is impossible.

Those who believe Obama is invulnerable because of his absolute grip on the African-American vote should at least consider what Clarence B. Jones, scholar in residence at the Martin Luther King Jr. Research and Education Institute at Stanford University, wrote in The Huffington Post on Dec. 5: "It is not easy to consider challenging the first African-American to be elected as president of the United States. But, regrettably, I believe that the time has come to do this. You don't have to be a rocket scientist nor have a Ph.D. in political science and sociology to see clearly that Obama has abandoned much of the base that elected him."

I doubt Jones currently represents the mainstream of the black community, but don't forget that the 2012 primaries will start (probably) in Iowa and New Hampshire, where there are very few black voters and where support from Obama will have to come from elsewhere.

Obama lost New Hampshire in the 2008 primaries but was able to recover. You can imagine, however, the panic that would break out both in the White House and the party if Obama lost New Hampshire in 2012.



When Gene McCarthy got 42 percent of the vote in New Hampshire in 1968 to incumbent President Lyndon Johnson's 49 percent, it was enough to end Johnson's presidency. McCarthy's issue? "I am concerned," he said, "that the administration seems to have set no limit to the price it is willing to pay for a military victory."

McCarthy was talking about Vietnam, but some Democrat might apply those same words to Afghanistan, which has become America's longest war.

The war in Afghanistan was a non-issue in November's congressional elections. Obama is for it, the Republicans are for it, and Congress continues to pay for it with barely a murmur. (The Afghanistan war cost us about $105 billion in fiscal 2010 and is projected to cost us $117 billion in fiscal 2011.)

Unlike Vietnam, we had good reason to go into Afghanistan. The Sept. 11 attacks were plotted by al-Qaida there. But now, having virtually destroyed al-Qaida in Afghanistan, we have come up with new reasons for staying: building democracy, establishing human rights and providing equal opportunity for all.

Essential to these grandiose plans is Pakistan, which receives billions of dollars in aid from America, but which continues to offer sanctuary to those who kill our soldiers, and Afghan President Hamid Karzai, who is corrupt and possibly mentally disturbed.

Even if we eventually abandon the loftiest of our goals, President Obama says we must stay in Afghanistan until the Afghans can field an army that can fight on its own.

This seems odd. Historically, the Afghans have fielded fierce fighters, capable of defeating enemies as powerful as the Soviet Union. What happened to these warriors?

As a foreign diplomat told me, "The Americans have taken one of the best fighting forces in the world and transformed it into one of the worst armies in the world."

Which would be very funny if it were not so true.

At the end of 2009, Obama set July 2011 as the start of the withdrawal of American forces from Afghanistan. But our military has never quite seemed on board with that.

Gen. David Petraeus, commander of our forces in Afghanistan, said on "Meet the Press With David Gregory" on Aug. 15: "The president has been clear … this is the date when the process begins which is conditions-based. As conditions permit, we transition to our Afghan counterparts in the security forces and government, and that allows a responsible draw-down of our forces."

As conditions permit.

Some now believe the significant draw-down date will be in 2014, which is when NATO predicts the Afghan army can take over. Or maybe not. As Petraeus recently told ABC News: "I don't think there are any sure things in this kind of endeavor. And I wouldn't be honest with you and with the viewers if I didn't convey that."

Consider it conveyed. So we won't be out of Afghanistan in 2011, and we may not be entirely out even by 2014. And there may be at least one liberal Democratic politician out there who considers this both unacceptable and an issue to run on in 2012.

On Thursday, President Obama updated the American people on both the progress and challenges of the Afghan war. He confirmed 2011 as the start of our withdrawal, but, as the generals say, there are no "sure things."

Which is true about politics also.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate