Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 10, 2010 3 Teves, 5771

Elizabeth Edwards Made a Bad Trade

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Why I gave a break to Elizabeth Edwards, I do not know. She hadn’t asked me to, and it was not my practice to do so.

We were at the airport in Manchester, N.H., in April 2002. It was her and her husband’s first campaign trip to the Granite State, and they had gotten an impressive reception: ferociously wind-whipped sleet that coated trees, light poles and the two of them.

It was the end of a long day, John was staying overnight to campaign further, but I had seen enough and was heading back to Washington. As I approached the boarding gate, I saw Elizabeth sitting there (she had also seen enough), and I sat down across from her.

She came over, sat down next to me, reached inside her purse for her wallet, opened it and said, “These are my children.” Pictures of four beautiful kids, one of whom I knew was dead. But Elizabeth never talked about Wade that way. She had four children, not three. It was just that one of them was gone.

That was the endearing side of Elizabeth Edwards. Like most people, she had other sides as well.

I asked her if she was going to spend many days out on the campaign trail with John. “Yes,” she replied. “I lend gravitas to him.”

I don’t know if my jaw actually dropped, but I was shocked. Elizabeth Edwards was telling me she had to lend substance and seriousness to her husband because he lacked them? Political spouses do not say such things, no matter how true they are.

She was new to the game, I figured. It was the slip of a novice. She didn’t really mean it, I told myself, and so I never printed her words.

What a dope I was. Not because I was insufficiently mean but because I underestimated Elizabeth Edwards. She knew exactly what she was saying. She did lend substance and seriousness to John Edwards’s campaign, and she wanted people to know it.

There had been hints of the other side of Elizabeth Edwards earlier in the day, but I had ignored what they meant (though I printed them).

While campaigning nearly two years before the primaries was considered incredibly early back then, John had already received certain attention. People magazine had named him its “Sexiest Politician,” and Elle had called him “the new and improved Al Gore.”

But it was shaping up to be a crowded field: Joe Lieberman, John Kerry. Dick Gephardt,Tom Daschle, Chris Dodd, Howard Dean, Al Gore, Russ Feingold and Al Sharpton already had put out presidential feelers.



Could John Edwards stand up to that field? At the moment, Edwards was mainly worried about standing up to the brutally biting wind on Elm Street in Manchester. He jumped over a giant pool of slush and plunged into the Merrimack Restaurant, where he shook the hand of the first person he saw.

“Hah, har you?” Edwards asked Courtney Henrich in his soft and pleasant Southern accent.

Henrich, in a small and shy voice, replied that she was fine. She didn’t say so, but she also would not be eligible to vote for another 13 years. Edwards went on to ask the same question of Courtney’s mother and grandmother and any other human being that came within his reach.

Elizabeth dutifully trailed along, and she took in everything. C-SPAN had a crew with John this day — C-SPAN being the lifeblood, the glucose drip, the keep-hope-alive channel of obscure presidential candidates — and the producer had clipped a wireless mic to John’s belt as he entered the restaurant.

Since the restaurant was nearly empty as a result of the storm, Edwards decided it was a good time to head for the men’s room. As he was about to disappear inside, a look of horror passed over the C-SPAN producer’s face. She ran after him, lunged underneath his suit jacket for the microphone and said, “Um, do you want me to turn you off?”

John said he did. He definitely did. It was one of those things a new candidate learned. And you could see Elizabeth making a mental note: no TV sound when my husband goes potty. This was not a mistake John would make again.

I spent the rest of the day following them from house party to house party and talking to them in the campaign van. “Elizabeth is bright, funny and candid — three qualities valued about as highly as poison oak by many political advisers,” I wrote. “And began the day by asking reporters: ‘So, have you met anyone up here who knows who he is?’”

That was the other Elizabeth — the one who could not resist getting in a dig.

It is not surprising that many, many wives of past presidential candidates were brighter, more focused and more driven than their husbands. They lived in an era when it was impossible for women to run for president, so they lived out their ambitions through their spouses.

And so it was for Elizabeth Edwards, even though Hillary Clinton put an end to that era by running a strong campaign for president in 2008.

Elizabeth had learned about John’s affair shortly after he announced for the presidency in 2006. In an excerpt from her book in Time magazine, headlined “How I Survived John’s Affair,” Elizabeth wrote that she urged John to drop out of the presidential race but that he didn’t want to: “It would only raise questions, he said, he had just gotten in the race; the most pointed questions would come if he dropped out days after he had gotten in the race. And I knew that was right.”

But that was wrong. John Edwards’s decision was “right” only if the goal was to cover up the affair. There was an alternative: Admit the affair, ask for the public’s forgiveness and move on. This, apparently, was never considered by John or Elizabeth. The public, they felt, could not handle the truth.

Elizabeth’s goal was the same as John’s, even after she knew he had cheated on her: Get John to the White House no matter what. Get John elected, even after she knew he was a liar and a cheat.

Which is what politics can do to you. Somewhere along the way, you trade in your substance and candor for raw ambition.

It is not a good trade, and Elizabeth knew that. She eventually left her husband and presidential politics, turning to writing, campaigning for national health care and spending time with her children.

She died far too young this week at age 61, her gravitas regained.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate