Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 1, 2010 24 Kislev, 5771

I'm now Biracial

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Ask Dr. Politics!

Q: Where have you been for the last few weeks? Journalists no longer get vacations.

A: We do get work release. And after five years, we don't even have to wear an ankle bracelet.

Q: There seems to be something different about you.

A: I have legs now.

Q: They grew back! I told you honey and whiskey would work!

A: They didn't grow back. And honey and whiskey is for sore throats, not amputations. I have been at Prosthetic and Orthotic Associates in Orlando, Fla., getting prosthetic legs. And now I not only can walk, but I am about 6-feet, 1-and-a-half, or about two inches taller than I was.

Q: And how has that changed you?

A: All my pants are too short, and I am looking forward to going one-on-one with Celtics legend Bob Cousy.

Q: Bob Cousy is 82!

A: It should be fair then. But that's not the most important change in my body: I am now biracial below the waist.

Q: I think that's way too much information.

A: My right leg is white, and my left leg is black. I wear them as a symbol of the new biracial harmony in President Obama's America.

Q: What new biracial harmony?

A: Good question. But as Mahatma Gandhi once said — and he may have been quoting Al Gore — "You must be the change you want to see in the world."

Q: Are you making this up?

A: No. My left leg is this wicked-cool matte-black carbon fiber. And my right leg is currently covered in a white sock, but I could remove it to reveal a stainless steel pylon.

Q: So you are "Spiderman 3" on the left side and a "Transformer" on the right?

A: Exactly. And the possibility of a Roger Simon action figure has occurred to me.

Q: So what can you do with your new legs?

A: Walk.

Q: That's it? You can't fly or knock down buildings or battle super-villains?

A: I tried walking backward the other day.

Q: Why did you want to walk backward?

A: I didn't particularly; I am just trying new stuff. Like walking on a treadmill. I did that recently.

Q: For how long?

A: About three minutes.

Q: And you're proud of that?

A: I am proud of anything that doesn't involve me falling down.

Q: Big whoop. Iron Man competitions, here you come.

A: Actually, I met people in Orlando with prosthetic legs who do both regular triathlons and Iron Man triathlons all the time. They have special legs for swimming, for biking and for running. The running legs are the coolest. They look like the letter "C" with the knee on top and the ground on the bottom. They return a lot of energy to the body with each stride.

Q: And what special stuff do your legs do?

A: I find them excellent for getting me as far as the refrigerator and the bathroom. And as the weather gets better, I look forward to walking out on the deck to barbecue.

Q: Sounds grueling.

A: One day at a time. Actually, studies have found that bilateral bk's like me — people who have lost both legs below the knee — expend 300 percent more energy walking than fleshy people do.

Q: Fleshy people?

A: We have to call you something.

Q: So you are happy with your progress?

A: When I interviewed President Obama in the Oval Office in June, I was in a wheelchair and without legs. And I told him my goal was to dance at the White House Holiday Party in December.

Q: That was very brave of you.

A: Not really. There is no dancing at the White House Holiday Party.

Q: Can I ask you something personal? You smell different. All sort of fresh and powdery.

A: Oh, that's the baby ointment that I have to rub on my stumps before I put my prosthetic legs on. It smells like parents want their babies' bottoms to smell instead of how they really smell. Now, can I ask you a question? How do you know what I smell like?

Q: Oh, there's an app for that.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate