Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Where We Let Terrorists Really Hurt Us

By Ron Hart




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | With the TSA handling more packages than Fed-Ex this holiday season, we need to revisit our overreaction to the sucker punch that was 9/11.

We know that the 9/11 hijackers were a loose band of religious zealots carrying out the commands of Osama bin Laden. They had no army and not many followers. The only way to elevate themselves in their own minds was to pull off a high profile attack on "Zionist-supporting" America. Muslims are historically not able to amass a major army. Even during their greatest period, the Ottoman Empire, their efforts apparently revolved around putting their feet up on something comfortable.

They have never been able to get along among themselves, much less organize into a formidable military force. Even their religious sects have ethnic sub-groups which hate each other. For goodness' sake, they don't even have grocery stores, cable TV or an "Al-Qaeda's Got Talent" show.

We give these thugs too much credit. Why is it when we kill or arrest a terrorist he is always called a "mastermind"? As far as I can tell, all their leaders ever do is tell a scared and unstable young boy to strap a bomb to himself and walk into a crowd of "infidels" and explode it, all in the name of Allah. Not exactly James Bond villain-type creativity.

Until we went to war with radical Islam, they had never been galvanized into any unity of purpose, nor could they ever accept a single commander to marshal them in battle. In short, their own ethnic, religious and tribal prejudices keep them from being a real threat to the USA, much like what might keep Mitt Romney from winning the GOP presidential nomination in 2012.

When we are aligned with NATO, the UN and other freedom-loving countries, the Islamic terrorists stand no chance of conquering any major nation. Annoy, yes. Conquer, no.

Not to minimalize 9/11, but what the terrorists did reminds me of what bullies on my high school football team would do to others they considered weak. Guys would, once or twice, raise their hands and slap someone. News of the act of unmeasured violence would quickly make the rounds at school. From then on, maybe a hundred times or so, those same bullies would take pleasure in raising their hands like they were going to hit someone and find it funny when their target recoiled in fear. They would always say "sike" when the person flinched. The sinister, sophomoric, sadistic pleasure it gave the bullies who thought this was "fun" somehow made them feel better about their manhood. This is what Bin Laden has done to us.

After learning as recently as Vietnam that we do not fight guerilla ground wars well, we got lured into Afghanistan and Iraq. When our enemies are indistinguishable in dress and deportment from our allies, time is on the side of the enemy.

To show you how much it is a part of human nature to "bow up," as we call it in the South when unfriendlies come onto our land, consider that in the War of Northern Aggression fewer than 5% of Confederate soldiers owned any slaves. In cases such as our occupation of Iraq and Afghanistan, history teaches us that we create more enemies than we coax to our side. It seems we should have learned this by now.

Protecting our homeland as they should, FBI agents adeptly caught Mohamed Osman Mohamud (a guy so nice he is named "Mohamed" twice) attempting to set off a bomb that would kill thousands of innocents during a Christmas tree lighting ceremony in Portland. The nation was shocked; Portland allowed a Christmas tree lighting? Gosh, I hope the FBI did not "profile" Mohamed, or the case will be thrown out of Portland, Oregon's courts.

Male TSA officers have been reduced to patting down other agents' crotches. It makes the Tony Awards look like a Bruce Willis movie. But at least Barney Frank now has identified his dream job.

Lastly, we have caused the deaths of more Americans with TSA screening than have quantifiably been saved. According to a Cornell University study, TSA screening procedures are so troubling to air passengers that more people are choosing to drive to their destinations, a more dangerous form of travel. As a result, 130 inconvenienced travelers die every three months as the unintended consequence of the overreaching TSA.

All bullies who raise their hands like they are going to slap us do it for the same reason -- to get a reaction. Let's stop giving them the satisfaction.

=<<


BUY THE BOOK


Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).


Comment by clicking here.


JWR contributor Ron Hart grew up in Tennessee and began writing a column for his hometown paper in 2002. He attended The University of Memphis and the Institute for Political and Economic Systems at Georgetown University. Ron graduated Magna Cum Laude and was elected student government president. Upon getting his MBA, he went to work for Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Regents by then Governor Lamar Alexander and is now a private investor. He appears on CNN and has been quoted in numerous publications including the Wall Street Journal.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Previously:

Time to starve the spending beast

The TSA: We Do Chicken Right!

A Red Wave

No Juan Left Behind at NPR

Capitalism in Time Saves Mine

The Broader Picture of What These Elections Mean

Dem-moralized: ‘Dead Fish’ taken to the trash cant

Ships Passing in the Night

Obamanomics continue to add up . . . for Republicans

She had Tiger by the tail: If Elin did not get Tiger's money, Obama would have


© 2010 Ron Hart

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles