Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 14, 2010 / 7 Teves, 5771

Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I never wanted to be the grumpy old man who complains incessantly about how everything used to be better in the good old days.

But, sometimes, I can't help myself.

I was reminded of the good old days recently through a series of events. The first was the 30th anniversary of Steve McQueen's death. He died at the age of 50 in Mexico on Nov. 7, 1980. His ashes were scattered in the Pacific Ocean.

The second event, which was tied to the previous event, was the release of a warts-and-all McQueen biography by Marshall Terrill, who wrote an earlier biography of the actor. His updated book is called "Steve McQueen: The Life and Legend of a Hollywood Icon."

The third event was the publication of the annual People magazine "Sexiest Man Alive" issue, in which Ryan Reynolds was anointed. Apparently, George Clooney was busy that day.

The magazine really brought it home for me. They sure don't make them like Steve McQueen anymore. No offense to Ryan Reynolds, of course.

From his entry into the movie business with "The Blob," and through a succession of roles in movies such as "The Magnificent Seven," "The Great Escape," "The Cincinnati Kid," "Nevada Smith," "Bullitt" and "The Getaway," Steve McQueen always played it cool.

In an industry that has included the likes of Clark Gable, Gary Cooper, Errol Flynn, Cary Grant, Marlon Brando, James Dean, Warren Beatty, Humphrey Bogart, James Cagney, Robert Mitchum and Paul Newman, McQueen is widely considered the coolest guy who ever drove across the cinematic landscape.

Pundits throw the word "cool" around like it is interchangeable with "attractive" or "hot" or "sexy." But there is a reason why People magazine doesn't annually declare the "Coolest Man Alive."

Sexy, hot or attractive are words that can be bandied about on a yearly basis, but cool is so rare that it is considered generational.

OK, that might be a slight exaggeration. Still, cool is so much cooler than sexy.

Trying to define "cool" is near-impossible. Cool is something you know instinctively when you see it. And, of course, cool — like art — is in the eye of the beholder.

For instance, I acknowledge that Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt and Russell Crowe are huge movie stars. Some might even find them incredibly attractive. In Pitt's case, I have always believed that he is the identical twin my mother neglected to tell me about.

But I wouldn't put any of these high-powered actors on my list of cool movie stars. To be fair, each has had his cool moments on the big screen (Cruise in "Top Gun," Pitt in "Oceans 11" and "Snatch" and Crowe in "L.A. Confidential" and "Gladiator"), but not on a consistent basis.

On the other hand, name a movie in which Steve McQueen was NOT cool? Go ahead; I'll wait.

But I'm not trying to say that the concept of cool died three decades ago with McQueen. There are a number of cool guys working in Hollywood today, but they're not necessarily named Ryan or Ethan or Brendan or Jake or Ben or even Keanu.

However, they might be named Johnny.

One more thing; the original question we posed — "Who's cooler than Steve McQueen?" — is a trick question. Nobody's cooler.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2007, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles