Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 23, 2010/ 16 Teves, 5771

Getting America Back On Track

By Arnold Ahlert




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | No doubt, at this particular time of year, many Americans are taking stock in both their personal lives and the country itself. In both cases, most of the focus will be on how we can improve both ourselves and the nation at large. Personal improvement is just that, personal, and will take many forms, all of which are beyond anyone else's control, save the individual involved. The country, however is another story. There are three major issues which must be addressed if America is to flourish once again. To wit:

The housing market must be allowed to find a bottom. Every stimulus package our clueless leaders in Washington, D.C. have engaged in centers around the idea that the American public must be encouraged to spend more money. Perhaps nothing gives more credence to the charge that our ruling class is out of touch with the concerns of ordinary Americans than the fact that people who are either underwater on, or have no idea of the true value of, the single largest investment they've made, are in any mood to spend money.

In a sane society, market forces would be allowed to work: those who are no longer making mortgage payments would be foreclosed on; those who are underwater, but can afford to honor their mortgage agreements would continue doing so; and government would get out of the way and let nature take its course, however painful that would be for some Americans.

Unfortunately, we don't live in a sane society. We live in one where "victims" abound, victims who feel entitled to live in houses they no longer pay for, or walk away from their freely-contracted obligations because it didn't work out as envisioned. We have a government giving people $8000 in tax credits to buy houses in order to artificially shore up the market, and judges delaying foreclosures because banks have done a lousy job processing paperwork. We have a new FinReg bill which completely avoided reforming Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, to the point where a return to sensible mortgage down payment requirements was defeated, and banks are still on the hook to make questionable mortgage loans to minority applicants lest, they incur the wrath of government.

All of this nonsense does nothing more than postpone the inevitable: we will get to a market bottom someday. But progressives and their statist schemes--all of which are based on the premise that reality must be postponed as long as possible in order to avoid "pain"-- will drag this fiasco out much longer than necessary, much like pulling a band-aid off a scab bit by bit instead of all at once. Bottom line: this recession is one of the longest and most enduring ones we've ever had, and most of it is due to the collapse of housing prices. Pretending they haven't collapsed as much as they have, or attempting to artificially prop them up, is as economically illiterate as it gets.

The borders must be sealed and illegal aliens must be sent to the back of the immigration line. Every broken promise contained in the 1986 Immigration Reform and Control Act has brought us to exactly where we are now: having as many as ten times the number of illegals granted amnesty back then (2.7 million) now demanding they be granted the right to live here. In what universe do law-breakers get to demand anything? The one inhabited by people for whom a massive and uncontrolled influx of low-skill, under-educated third-worlders constitutes a path permanent power. The ones for whom the basic foundation of our republic--the rule of law, not the rule of men--can be tossed aside as easily and completely as it is done in any banana republic or totalitarian hellhole.

Only abject liars would deliberately attempt to obscure the difference between legal and illegal immigration, even as they tar those who make the distinction as racist and xenophobic. Only utter fools would allow our borders to remain wide open in an age of international terror. Only thugs masquerading as champions of justice would sue a state like Arizona for trying to protect itself, even as they studiously avoid taking on the hundreds of sanctuary cities in indisputable violation of federal immigration law. Only those completely contemptuous of America's history of legal immigration would make a mockery of those trying to enter this country the right way.

Spare me the sob stories, the stats, or anything else the open border advocates use to justify allowing millions of people here illegally to stay. Been there, done that in '86, and the magnitude of that lie has been revealed to anyone paying attention:

Amnesty begets more illegal immigration--period.

Government spending must be substantially reduced. Note to Republicans: you're in the catbird seat, whether you realize it or not. Why? You control the House of Representatives from which all spending bills originate--meaning you can hack away at the bloated budget and allow Democrats in the Senate and the White House to undermine your attempts. In other words, win or lose, you can stand on pure fiscally responsible principle, while tax-and-spend Dems shoot themselves in their collective feet, just in time for the 2012 election.

Aside from that consideration, there one other compelling reason to stand on principle. If you don't, you're toast. The best thing you've got going is that the tax deal you were just suckered into--and you were played for suckers--happened before the newbies in the party were seated. Only the establishment fools in the Republican Party would pat themselves on the back for exchanging the status quo on taxes--for only two years, no less, making them a guaranteed issue for the 2012 election--for another thirteen months of unemployment payments, bringing the total to a mind-boggling two years and eleven months of getting paid for doing nothing. Does it even occur to you what allowing millions of Americans to say on the dole for almost three years does to the character of the nation?

And spare us all the bromide of "reducing spending to 2008 levels." That level of spending was an obscenity, but apparently you believe Americans shell-shocked by profligacy of the 111th Congress and the Obama White House will think such a reduction is meaningful. It's not, and plenty of us know it.

We also know we've got somewhere else to go if you insist on screwing up. That the Tea Party candidates for election hitched themselves to the Republican wagon in 2010 was a gift, not a permanent condition. Steamroll them at your peril, and trust me when I tell you that America is a razor's edge away from establishing a viable third political party if the current two continue to insist on committing fiscal suicide. Millions of Americans will not go quietly toward impending Greece-hood.

And for heaven's sake, tell the truth: tell Americans that major reforms of Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid are inevitable, not probable. Tell them entire money-wasting Departments of the federal bureaucracy need to be jettisoned. No doubt you'll be up against decades of inbred entitlement mentality demanding that "every other government program but mine" be reformed. But leadership is all about making tough, often unpleasant decisions that help the nation, not some noisy individual constituency--or worse, a political party.

If you need inspiration, examine the latest census data. Americans are literally voting with their feet: virtually every state that lost population is a tax-and-spend liberal stronghold, while every state that gained people is a low- or no-tax one in which incentive is encouraged, not browbeaten into the anti-business, redistributionist ground.

Americans are desperate to feel optimistic about their nation, for the simplest of reasons: historically speaking, it is our natural state of being. For far too long, Washington, D.C. has done everything they can to undermine that optimism. On November 2nd, Americans made it crystal clear that they're sick and tired of feeling sick and tired. Hopefully they'll make it even clearer two years from now. America didn't become the greatest nation on earth by whining about its future, playing one group of citizens off another, or believing "hope and change" were only possible if some benevolent bureaucrat bestowed them upon us. That is not who we are, despite what progressives and their media apparatchiks would have us believe.

Genuine hope and change is part of our DNA, and always has been--and it's long past time government aided and abetted that DNA instead of thwarting it at every turn. Those who refuse to understand that are free to do as they please.

We just need to get as many of them out of positions of power as is humanly possible.

To all my readers: thanks for the support this past year. I really appreciate it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Arnold Ahlert's column, by clicking here.



Previously:


12/20/10:
A Collectivist Coalition of Convenience
12/15/10: The President Who Wasn't There
12/13/10: Tech-No!
12/08/10: A Lethal Military, Inclusive or Not
12/06/10: The ‘Unexpected’ Consequences of Progressivism
12/01/10: Leakers and Losers
11/29/10: ‘We Won’, Part One
11/22/10: Keep Your Hands Off My Constitution
11/17/10: Grope and Change
11/14/10: Taking Back Our Country, One School At a Time
11/11/10: Checks (and Balances), Please
11/08/10: Curtain Up, Progressives Down
11/04/10: Last Chance, Republicans
11/01/10: By Their Own Words Shall Ye Know Them
10/28/10: Progressive Determination to Undermine American Elections
10/25/10: Shock, but more importantly, action: De-Unionize Public Schools now
10/20/10: Multiculturalism? Check, Please
10/18/10: Healthcare: ‘Alice in Wonderland’ vs. The Constitution
10/11/10: Vote for Restoring the Rule of Law in November
10/11/10: Dems: Running From Clarity
10/07/10: Hypersensitive Hogwash
10/04/10: ‘Comprehensive’ Con Artists
09/29/10: Why Dems Are Going Down in November
09/27/10: The Unholiest of Unholy Alliances
09/22/10: Two Words for Republicans to Remember: ‘I Won’
09/20/10: Purging ‘Me First’ Politicians
09/17/10: No More ‘Lesser of Two Evils’
09/15/10: ‘Recovery’ Arms Race
09/13/10: ‘Bigots’ in the Majority --- Again?
09/09/10: Giving Voters Something to Vote For
09/07/10: Irresponsible Dems, Incomprehensible Bills
09/02/10: War Weary Americans vs. Implacable Islamists
08/31/10: A ‘Dream’ Debased
08/25/10: American ‘Bigots’ Versus Media Propagandists
08/23/10: Recovery Bummer
08/19/10: An Unholy Alliance of Radicals
08/16/10: You've Lost America, Mr. President
08/13/10: The Twin Towers of Progressive Disconnect
08/11/10: A Far Better ‘National Discussion’
08/09/10: It's ‘Only’ One Dead Nun
08/06/10: Incremental Tyranny
08/04/10: Ground Zero Mosque: Context Counts
08/02/10: The Arizona Ruling: a Gift for November
07/29/10: The United Cities of America
07/26/10: JournoList: ‘Coordinated’ Ideological Bankruptcy
07/20/10: Go For Broke Or Get Out of the Way
07/14/10: You're a Liberal/Progressive if You Believe…
07/12/10: $33-an-hour--For Sleeping On the Job
07/08/10: Extortionist Government
07/06/10: ‘Commerce Clause’ Totalitarians
07/01/10: Another Public School Travesty in MA
06/30/10: Calling YOUR Bluff, Mr. President
06/28/10: A Trifecta of Progressive Corruption
06/23/10: Plug the Darn Hole --- In Our Border
06/21/10: Our Empty-Suit-in-Chief
06/16/10: Betraying Our Children
06/14/10: Who Gets the Benefit of the Doubt?
06/07/10: Politically Correct Warfare
06/01/10: Bill Maher's ‘Black’ President
05/25/10: A Mosque At Ground Zero
05/23/10: Libs Stand Tall --- For Mexico
05/19/10: The 'Unintended Consequences' of Liberalism
05/17/10: 'Los' Suns: Stuck on Stupido
05/12/10: Union Audacity: Yes We Will!
05/10/10: Greeks, Leaks and and Double-Speak
05/05/10: Twelve Million Illegals --- or Thirty?
05/02/10: Republicans: Playing Not to Lose Doesn't Cut It
04/28/10: Arizona: Progressivism's Waterloo?
04/26/10: Son of Amnesty
04/22/10: Mortgages and Moral Meltdowns
04/20/10: Bashing Christians — Or Gays?
04/15/10: Personal Integri-‘tea’
04/12/10: Fools, Tools and Ghouls
04/08/10: (Tea) Party On
04/05/10: The Triumph of Mediocrity
04/02/10: Two For the Road
03/29/10: The Innate Immorality of Liberalism
03/24/10: The Art of War
03/22/10: I Want My Country Back
03/18/10: A Perpetual Process
03/17/10: American Exhibitionists
03/15/10: A Light Bulb Moment of Clarity
03/10/10: Little Things Mean A Lot
02/03/10: Budgetary Fork in the Road
02/01/10: Liberal Economic Illiteracy
01/27/10: ‘Roe-ing and Wade-ing’ Back to Reason
01/25/10: Arrogance When Up, Denial When Down
01/20/10: Connecting the Educational Dots
01/19/10: The Next Tea Party?
01/15/10: The Myth That Keeps on Giving
01/13/10: Airport Security Begins Away From the Airport
01/11/10: Secrets and Lies
01/08/10: Embracing Bigotry — or Rejecting Bullying?
01/06/10: Hanging by an Ideological Thread
01/04/10: Our ‘Wonderama’ Bureaucracy
12/30/09: A Day Off
12/28/09: Dangerous Myths
12/25/09: I, Me, Mine
12/23/09: A Very Harry Christmas
12/21/09: My Opinon
12/18/09: The Party of Repeal
12/15/09: Privileged Exemption
11/30/09: ‘Settled’ Science and Unsettled Children
11/30/09: American Sharia Law
11/23/09:The Trial (Travesty) of the Century
11/04/09: American Vampires and Their Political Enablers
11/01/09: ‘Opting Out’ of Insanity?
10/28/09: Cell Phones Cause Brain Cancer. Brain Required
10/26/09: Communism: Nazism With Better PR
10/21/09: Just Asking
10/16/09: Cost Projections vs. Actual Costs, or Hope and Change vs. Reality
10/14/09: News you can use …
10/07/09: Incremental Insidiousness
10/05/09: MIA: Common Sense and Common Decency
09/30/09: Iran: Bad Options and Unpreparedness
09/21/09: Crying Racism: the Last Refuge of Scoundrels
09/11/09: 9/11 Cannot Be Sanitized
09/08/09: ‘Truthers’ and Consequences
09/01/09: A ‘Paper Trail’ Challenge for the Mainstream Media
08/31/09: Drowning in Amorality
08/26/09: The Republican Recovery Program

© 2010, Arnold Ahlert

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles