Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 30, 2008 / 3 Teves 5769

Home sweet ‘heart home’

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Fewer Americans are relocating these days, which has its upside.


The Pew Research Center has released a new survey report: "American Mobility: Who Moves? Who Stays Put? Where's Home?" The report spotted an interesting trend: Only 13 percent of the population changed residences in 2006 and 2007, the lowest figure since the 1940s.


America has long been a mobile country. The survey finds that 63 percent of Americans have relocated at least once in their lives. Part of the reason for our incredible success, our current recession woes notwithstanding, is that Americans have been willing to go where the opportunities are.


But here's a number that is equally telling: Nearly 4 in 10 Americans have never left the place in which they were born. Folks who stay put have done so for one reason: to be near family and the close connections within their communities.


Which leads us to the most interesting finding of the survey: More than 1 in 5 U.S.-born Americans say the place where they currently live is not, "in their heart," the place they really consider home.


I understand this sentiment well. I was born and raised in Pittsburgh, land of colorful characters and common sense. I had no idea how connected I was to the place until I spent nearly eight years in northern Virginia beginning in 1998.


At first, I loved my new town. Townhouses, office buildings and strip malls popped up like wildflowers. Thousands of people moved in from every part of America and the world to take advantage of the growing economy. I befriended interesting people from all over.


But something was missing. I'd noticed, for instance, a simple difference. When walking down a sidewalk, folks didn't often make eye contact. People kept to themselves. This isn't how it is in Pittsburgh.


One Mother's Day when I came home for a visit, a hurricane-like burst touched down just blocks from my parents' house. Large trees were toppled in a 10-block area, blocking several roads.


Within minutes, people in their Sunday best were getting soaked by the rain as they directed traffic, helped clear the roadways and kept others from getting near the downed power lines.


This would never happen in the Washington area.


Which makes me wonder: Is it because we have gotten further away from our roots and our hometowns that we've become less friendly and civil — less concerned for our fellow man?


As we've moved to large, generic suburbs, have we become more generic ourselves and less like the colorful characters common in places like Pittsburgh? And as so many of us no longer live in our "heart home," have we begun to become more insular and self-centered?


I think so. It is the settled neighborhoods of Pittsburgh that have kept people connected. And it is the economic prosperity that has led millions to move to large, transient metros in which we spend hours sitting in traffic alone in our cars.


I am one of the lucky ones, though. I was able to move back to Pittsburgh and reconnect with a lot of wonderful people. I live in an old, settled neighborhood and walk to coffee shops and pubs. I am on a first-name basis with my postal carrier, the UPS guy, my mechanic and dozens more really wonderful people.


As baby boomers age, they are less likely to relocate. The recession, too, means fewer opportunities, which means fewer Americans will relocate.


But, as I said, this has one upside at least: Staying put will strengthen family and community ties. And the more folks who live in their "heart home," the better off all of us will be.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2008, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles