JWR Schticks and groans

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 18, 2007 / 9 Teves 5768

ĦAsk a Jew!

By Andrew Silow-Carroll


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Jew: Why do you people all the time have to be living in the big houses, driving the fancy cars, and sending your kids to the best schools? Can't you leave anything for the rest of us?


Dear Friend: I'm not sure what's worse: Your assumption that all Jews are well off or your resentment of those who are. As usual when confronted with questions about the Jewish success story, I volley with: "For this I should apologize?"


My shtetl (Old Country) grandparents knew poverty, and believe me, to quote Tevye, it's no great honor, either.


Jews flourished in this country because they worked hard and studied harder. And if that feeds stereotypes, well, consider the alternative. And one last thing, you Mel Gibson wannabe: Shame on you for forgetting the Jews who are struggling in this economy, here and abroad. As for Jews who don't share their good fortune with others, well, shame on us.


Dear Jew: Why does every Jew I know claim to have a relative who is a gangster? I thought you people all come from rabbis and judges?


Dear Chaver: I'll admit it — I'm also puzzled about the "tough Jews" phenomenon, in which the grandsons of accountants and deli clerks tell tall tales about Kid Twist and Meyer Lansky and the other principals in Murder Inc. I see the attraction: When you grow up being told that Jews are weak and cowardly and the walk to school is a gauntlet of taunts, it's comforting to think that there are shtarkers out there who inspire fear in the hearts of gentiles. But you don't have to dig very deep in the archives to learn that these guys were thugs and murderers whose hands were stained with the blood of Jews and non-Jews alike.


Dear Jew: What's with the Miss Lonelyhearts format, and why are you bothering to answer these anti-Semites? What have you been reading, ĦAsk a Mexican!?


Dear Buddy: Was I that obvious? Yes, I have been reading ĦAsk a Mexican!, and for those who aren't familiar with it or its author let me catch you up. In his column for the OC Weekly in Orange County, Calif., Gustavo Arellano answers readers' questions about his fellow Hispanics. The only rule is that there are no rules — he'll address the most racist, despicable, ill-informed questions, and when he doesn't actually agree with the premise, he'll turn it back around on the questioner. Why do Mexicans park their cars on the front lawn? Why do Mexicans swim with their clothes on? Why don't Mexicans ever drop their Spanish?


Arellano reads like Carlos Mencia with a PhD. If there is a truth behind a stereotype, he'll acknowledge it. More often, however, he'll find the recent university study that refutes the slurs about Hispanic immigrants. In a new book-length compilation of his columns, also titled ĦAsk a Mexican!, Arellana says he hopes to create "the fullest depiction of Mexicans in the land — not the same tired cliches of immigrants and mothers but a nuanced, disgusting, fabulous people."


Dear Jew: "Disgusting"? This is a role model?


Dear Buddy: If we're going to boast about all the good qualities of an ethnic group, don't we also have to acknowledge the bad? America has a terrible conversation on race. When it isn't dishonest, it's hysterical. Bill Cosby is excoriated by the black intelligentsia because he suggests quite reasonably that some blacks are making self-destructive choices. Halle Berry fears for her career because she makes a harmless joke about Jewish noses. The nature-nurture debate is paralyzed by specious comparisons between genetics and eugenics.


Maybe the most honest conversation on race is happening in comedy clubs. It's a tradition that goes back to Lenny Bruce. "A lot of people say to me, 'Why did you kill Christ?'" Bruce sphritzed. "'I dunno… It was one of those parties, got out of hand, you know.... We killed him because he didn't want to become a doctor, that's why we killed him.'" Bruce embraced a stereotype to demolish a slur.


And so does Arellano. In answering why many Mexican immigrants park their cars on their lawns, Arellano offers a biting, 100-word indictment of city bureaucracy, minimum wage, and neighborhood vandals. "The lawn is the only spot Mexicans can park their cars without fear of break-ins, drunken crashes, or an unfortunate keying," writes The Mexican. "Besides, what do you think protects us from drive-bys? The cops?"


Dear Jew: But aren't Jews the touchiest ethnic group of them all? I mean, Jews will play the anti-Semitism card faster than you can say "Jimmy Carter."


Dear Pal: First of all, the day Jews begin rioting over an Abraham cartoon is the day you can call us the touchiest ethnic group. Second, I think there's room to lighten up without putting down our guard against the real threats out there. Ahmadinejad? Not funny. Halle Berry? Well, there's this old joke about a Jewish girl who wants a nose job....

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Andrew Silow-Carroll is the editor in chief of the New Jersey Jewish News, where this article first appeared. To comment, please click here.

© 2007, Andrew Silow-Carroll