Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 28, 2007 / 19 Teves 5768

Things I'm thankful for

By Mark Kellner

Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Technology's growth in 2007 is difficult to ignore, and there are many products, companies and individuals I'm thankful for as the year ends.


I'm thankful for MICROSOFT CORP. They brought out Office 2007 for Windows, and it's a marvelous product, making word processing and other tasks much easier for users of all stripes. The firm also released Windows Vista, which seems to be OK for many users, but has brought headaches to some others. I've not been brave enough to install Vista on one of my existing PCs, but the new computers I've used that have Vista seem to be just fine.


Another word of thanks goes to SUN MICROSYSTEMS and its spin=off OPEN OFFICE project. Yes, I like Office 2007, but I can't be bothered hassling with an install-and-uninstall process on every PC sent here for testing. My "standard," then, is Open Office's office suite (www.openoffice.org) and it's more than sufficient for my needs. Oh, and it's free!


Gratitude must also go to APPLE COMPUTER on the software front: this year saw the arrival of a boatload of new Mac applications, and of course the long-awaited Mac OS X 10.5, known as Leopard. This operating system revision is sweet, and installation and usage has generally been much easier for users than with Vista. I say generally, because some have reported hiccups. No hiccups have ben reported with new applications such as IPhoto 08, Pages 08 or Keynote 08, all of which commend themselves to users needed image handling, modest word processing or stunning presentations. Of the three major new Mac apps, I give highest marks to IPhoto - it's just too wonderful to be true. I use it almost daily, and, almost daily, I'm amazed at how well it performs.


On the hardware side, kudos must also go to APPLE COMPUTER. The new iMac is stunning in its appearance; I've not used one, but if it's half as good as its predecessor, which I use daily, it'll be great. I can say nothing but good things about the newest MacBook Pro computers; mine has been in constant use since August and it's a steady, solid performer.


And, of course, there's Apple's crowning achievement of the year, if not the decade, the IPhone. Not since the original Palm Pilot of a decade ago has a single device so changed and challenged an industry. Steve Jobs, Apple's chairman, and the IPhone team each deserve tremendous plaudits for coming up with a device so intuitive, so natural to use that there's no comparison with any other mobile phone in existence today. This product has redefined the entire category, and such an accomplishment is not an every day event.


There's someone else I'm thankful for at Christmas-tide, and on other days of the year. He is LT. GEN. MICHAEL W. PETERSON, the chief information officer of the United States Air Force. Hearing him speak, and interviewing him earlier this year, I saw that Gen. Peterson is that rare leader who is not only thoroughly versed in the mission of the military, but who also understands the role of technology as well as any corporate CIO that I've seen.


Gen. Peterson is representative, by the way, of the entire cadre of Department of Defense information technology leadership. These are people who "get" that our future defense will take place as much in cyberspace as anywhere, and that vigilance is vital to protecting our liberty.


To Gen. Peterson, his colleagues and all those working to keep the "land of the free" exactly that, my deepest gratitude. Godspeed to you all in the accomplishment of this vital mission.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Mark Kellner has reported on technology for industry newspapers and magazines since 1983, and has been the computer columnist for The Washington Times since 1991.Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, News World Communications, Inc. Reprinted with permission of The Washington Times. Visit the paper at http://www.washingtontimes.com

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles